Audio sounds muddy unless mic button is pressed

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by ExquisiteCorpse, Feb 14, 2019.

  1. ExquisiteCorpse

    ExquisiteCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Hi

    Does anyone else have this issue? Headphones with a mic button and vol control produce a muddy sound unless you hold down the mic button!

    Driving me mad
     
    Tags:
  2. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    Known issue, Pandora was in development before or around the time iPhone barely came out, the standard used on every other phone at the time had the ground ring in a normal sane place. However Apple decided to swap the Mic and Ground rings to force iPhone users to only buy their standard of headsets. Eventually due to the popularity of the iPhone all other manufacturers swapped to the Apple Standard.

    So on a modern headset pushing the Mic button will give a path to ground through the Microphone, which will clear up the sound. I bought this adapter long ago that swapped these pins for you, but I can't find anything like it sold anymore. ended up losing the adapter, so my current setup I have a zip tie holding the Mic Button down. I suppose making one could be easy if you source the right jack and plugs, also if you don't need the Microphone functional I believe a 3 pin headphone extender will also work to clear up the sound as the ground ring is wider and spans the ground and mic ring.

    Luckily with the Pyra, there is a chip that detects if a headset is plugged in, it has a ground sense circuit that knows to switch between the two standards depending where the ground ring is.
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2019
    kuru and Linux-SWAT like this.
  3. asimov-solensan

    asimov-solensan Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    I use a simple mic and headphones splitter. Easy to find for a few euro and does the job.
     
  4. Letalis Sonus

    Letalis Sonus Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,054
    Are you sure they actually swapped and did not just start to use ICs that could sense the order of contacts and switch around the lines, like the Pyra?
     
  5. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,211
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Maybe that's more common these days, but for a few years there were people complaining they they couldn't use their own headset on their new android phone, or their new headset wouldn't work with their old phone, as in this case. So they swapped after the iphone came out for sure, but maybe they're more flexible these days, if they feel it's worth supporting old headsets any more.

    Personally all of my 3.5" jack headsets use the apple standard, as they're post iPhone. The only headsets I've got that use the old standard use 2.5" jacks so are mostly useless these days.
     
  6. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,550
    pretty sure, for a while many referred to the Old standard as the Nokia standard and the apple. Think when Samsung starting using Apple's style everyone else fell in line.
     
    FBnil likes this.
  7. matzesu

    matzesu Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    3,045
    Location:
    Germany,, Saarland, at home
    I use a extend Cable from a old pair of headphones,
    The Pyra shouldnd have this issue..
     

Share This Page

Loading...