[Application] RISC OS on the Pandora

Discussion in 'DragonBox Coding Compo 2012/2013' started by Raik, Jan 27, 2013.

  1. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2013
    Tags:
  2. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2013
  3. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Yes and no ;-)

    Edit: This is Trevors "translation" from my first stupid english ToDo in the RISC OS forum ;-)

    It is RISC OS from ROOL. You need only a Pandora. Not a external Keyboard and Mouse.

    It is my compilation of the OS and the best freeware and my screendriver and my cmos. You can also take this question in the german forum, Or send me a mail. My englisch is a catastrophe. Sorry.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2013
  4. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,070
    Great !

    What works/doesn't work ?
     
  5. Askarus

    Askarus Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,214
    Location:
    Germany
    What's the advantage if I use it instead of Pandora OS or Slackware?
     
  6. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    You have run a fast and easily customised operating system for ARM devices... look at https://www.riscosopen.org

    What works? All thinks that works on the beagleboard port... https://www.riscosopen.org/wiki/documentation/show/ARMv6%2Fv7%20software%20compatibility%20list

    What works not? All the old 26bit RISC OS stuff...

    The most Hardware works. But we have no WiFi-driver in RISC OS :-(
    For networking you need a external USB to ethernet adapter or a UMTS Stick and the !ComCentre (is inside in my distro) but the setup is a little bit fiddly.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2013
  7. Neelix

    Neelix Insecticidal Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    3,198
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    how about bluetooth?

    - Neelix
     
  8. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8,070
  9. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    @Neelix

    Bluetooth and TVout not work but anybody work on it.

    But our USB Host can also USB1.1 Devices ;-)

    @Linux-SWAT

    I will try this. At this time there is also a Pandora_A1.img.gz aviable.

    In the middle of the week I hope you can find more Informatiion at

    http://riscos.openpandora.org
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2013
  10. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    So, could RISC OS be a default OS choice for the Pandora or is it not fleshed out enough yet (such as not having enough software/features)?
     
  11. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
  12. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    Can Wifi ever work on it? Also, I'm having an error when booting it up. It is:



    Code:
    Error: Unable to create files in "SDFS::Pandora.$.!BOOT.Resources.!Scrap.ScrapDirs", error returned is: "The disc is write protected. Move the write-protect tab and try again." (Error number &6)
    I burned the Image to the SD card using Win32DiskImager.
     
  13. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Is your card writeprotect?

    I have a card... the slider is moving to protect if I insert this...

    Win32DiskImager I not try but it should work.

    Are you in the desktop or in command line?

    In CLI type *desktop

    Cancel the message.

    left click to the SD icon... Cancel the message.

    One left click to !Boot.... down click --> menu --> App !Boot --> Access --> click Unprotected

    Reboot.

    WiFi is a problem on RISC OS. I mean nobody works on it :-(
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013
  14. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    Its telling me that its write protected. How did you manage to get it to go on a SD card?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013
  15. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013
  16. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    Yes, its not write-protected. I'm going to copy the files over to my PC, format it and copy them back.

    EDIT: It didn't work. It has to be a FAT partition.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013
  17. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Win32DiskImager works with the unzipped .img.gz

    You can not handle the card with WIN, Linux or what ever. The second adfs-partition is unvisible and unusable...

    You can only see the FAT with autoboot, the ROM and th CMOS...

    You can only write the complete Image.
     
  18. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Uups, my Win32DiskImager not checked the card size. I have 3 2GB cards with different sizes. May be your card is to small.

    I must go to work. I be back online in 1 and a half hour.
     
  19. Zero3K

    Zero3K Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2003
    Messages:
    828
    Location:
    USA
    My disk isn't too small since its size is 16 GB. Btw, We should get someone to work on implementing WiFi.


    Edit: I tried using WinImage to write the .IMG to it. It didn't work out. Maybe I should try the .IMZ next.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013
  20. Raik

    Raik Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Near Berlin
    Is it possible to try ubit?

    edit: traffic jam...

    Try a other smaller card, please. May be you have a incompatible one.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 30, 2013

Share This Page

Loading...