Release Application : HackerBooks

ekianjo

Hardcore Member
You may have noticed I was kind of away both from Pandoralive and these boards for the past week, apart from the casual message here and there. I have been working on a small application that may prove useful to some of you who are interested in development. 

It's called HackerBooks and it's based on the concept of Hacker Shelf (the website) as well as numerous sources from StackOverflow where you can find where to download free books about programming in different languages. 

Why did I create this ? Well...

• I am a casual developer and because I lack time to fully dive and search for stuff on the net I always want to have complete resources on a subject as much as possible, i.e. books. 
  • When programming, I like having my Pandora on the side as a second screen - to check the book/reference at the same time. 
  • I like having all my programming books in the same place, and not mess them up with my other PDFs or ebooks. 
  • There are many high quality books with CC licenses that I was not aware of, so I thought you may not be aware of them either. Everybody wins. 

It presents itself like that: A simple list with all the books available, with different categories indicated: 

01.png

Once you click on a book, you get the description of the contents... and you can Download it. 

02.png

One click on Download and a short wait... and you get the book:

03.png

You then click on "Read" button and it automatically launches the PDF reader (currently all books are in PDF but I plan to add support for HTML books down the road). Here's for example a book about Git: 

04.png

And even if you close the book, you can come back to it anytime and it will remember the last place where you stopped. 

It's already fully functional and I will package it for Pandora this weekend. It's written in python and it's open source, so if you are interested to fork it or work on it with me it will be up to you.