Release Another Test Wifi Driver

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by notaz, Mar 7, 2011.

  1. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
    Reposting this here for more exposure

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
    Tags:
  2. levi1123

    levi1123 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    I would like to point out you've posted the IPK link incorrectly.


    http://notaz.gp2x.de...ap3-pandora.ipk != http://notaz.gp2x.de/misc/pnd/wl1251-modules_1.0-r24.5_omap3-pandora.ipk


    Also, forgive me for being thickheaded but, how can i install this?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
  3. IsSuE

    IsSuE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Upper Austria
    opkg install package.ipk


    thx for this, will try it soon!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
  4. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,911
    Location:
    Lithuania
  5. the_marshal

    the_marshal Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    190
    Just installed it :)


    It starts the wifi directly when you install the package.


    Tried creating a new wireless network (ad-hoc). Well, I am not sure how it's suppose to work but network manager seemed to be doing something. What I am sure tough is that afterward I couldn't connect to my WPA2 network.I then toggled the wifi (to off state) and then again but it didn't want to come back on.


    Actually after a reboot I can connect fine and I can turn the wifi on/off. I'll try the ad-hoc and some speed test when I have the time.
     
  6. Eridger

    Eridger Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Is there any plan or intention to introduce packet injection into the driver?
     
  7. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    just tested. works well. thanks notaz!!
     
  8. IsSuE

    IsSuE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    118
    Location:
    Upper Austria
    I tried the monitor mode: i can turn it on, but it only finds two networks in my area using airmon-ng, though there should be > 10


    Not sure though, if I am too stupid to use it correctly or if it is driver related
     
  9. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    are you sure those networks have sufficient traffic? also are you setting your channel or just letting it switch on its own? mine seems to pick up all the networks that i can confirm have traffic, i tried with several routers and a wifi hotspot on a phone
     
  10. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    so what wifi chip is in the pandora? checked the wiki but didnt see a name. will it support packet injection in monitor mode? just tried for the hell of it to confirm it doesnt currently work
     
  11. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    how do you test monitor mode?


    also how to stop the wifi auto starting on boot?


    cheers


    also can you uninstall by opkg remove? and if so how to install default driver?


    cheers
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2011
  12. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    joikuspot is still a no-go, supposedly it should run on ad hoc mode
     
  13. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    you can use iwconfig to change your mode from managed to monitor, then use something like airodump-ng to test. at least thats what i did. i havent tried to uninstall because so far this is the best working driver i have tried on my pandora
     
  14. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    okay thanks! any ideas how to stop it booting on startup?
     
  15. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    should just have to edit your /etc/network/interfaces and comment out the auto line like


    auto eth0


    to


    #auto eth0
     
  16. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887

    hi there is no entry for eth0 in interfaces, any other places to look?


    thanks
     
  17. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    does it say wlan0? can you copy paste interfaces
     
  18. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    hi


    ----


    # /etc/network/interfaces -- configuration file for ifup(8), ifdown(8)


    # The loopback interface


    auto lo


    iface lo inet loopback


    # Wireless interfaces


    iface wlan0 inet dhcp


    wireless_mode managed


    wireless_essid any


    wpa-driver wext


    wpa-conf /etc/wpa_supplicant.conf


    # Bluetooth networking


    iface bnep0 inet dhcp


    --
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2011
  19. maxxdoutvdub

    maxxdoutvdub Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    my interfaces looks abit different than yours but i just tried to opt out of a few things i thought would work but wifi always comes on at boot... i think im missing something here, ill have to do a bit of reading
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2011
  20. peelie

    peelie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    887
    only workaround found so far is to untick "Enable Networking" from network icon


    edit


    strange although it does not try to connect the wifi is still switched on at boot - get red light on righthand side of pandora? hmmm
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 13, 2011

Share This Page

Loading...