Android 4.4/5.0 OOB?

Discussion in 'Pyra OS (Debian GNU/Linux)' started by Asaggynoodle, Jan 19, 2015.

  1. Asaggynoodle

    Asaggynoodle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Hey all, been a while.

    With the Release of the Pyra just around the corner, I want to ask a simple question I have yet to be exactly asked.

    Since the Pyra uses the OMAP5 (Basically a Dual core 1.7Ghz A15), would I be able to Run an Android OS right out of the box?

    I mean I've got pretty extensive experience with Android, So i'd be curious as to how I would go about actually installing it.

    Would the Pyra use its own Compiled Kernel? Or try to hijack another OMAP5 based kernel? You see what I mean?

    I think Android Lollipop would be simply amazing on something with a keyboard like this.

    Please let me know your thoughts. Thanks.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2015
    Tags:
    directive0 likes this.
  2. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,251
    Well I doubt it will be available out of the box, but I'm sure someone skilled enough could get something working if they invest time into it.

    Ti does offer a package of Android for use with the OMAP5 development board, not entirely sure of which version.. From what I hear from aTc it's quite unpolished..
     

    There isn't really another OMAP5 based kernel out there that works well to hijack from.. Not much uses that SoC.

     
     
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 19, 2015
  3. Asaggynoodle

    Asaggynoodle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    104
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    I found this:

    https://android.googlesource.com/kernel/omap/

    But i'm not sure which of the code names (Tuna, Minnow, Hammerhead etc.) correlate to teh different SoC's.

    TI offers a evaluation build of Android for this very SoC, probably serverely outdated, but if we could update it, we could be in buisness. (Turns out it's 4.2.2 JB)

    http://software-dl.ti.com/omap/omap5/omap5_public_sw/OMAP5432-EVM/5AJ_1_5_Release/index_FDS.html
     
  4. TrashyMG

    TrashyMG Sarcasm Dispenser Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10,251
    A custom kernel would still be needed.. There will be specific kernel modules for handling things such as the LCD display and other hardware.. I also doubt any of those listed on that page have omap5 support as the only thing that uses the omap5 currently are devboards. In the case of the Pandora we're able to run Android on top of our existing kernel, my guess the same thing could be done in theory.
     
  5. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,584
    TI has an official Jellybean release for the EVM which should mostly work provided the kernel can be recompiled with the new display, keyboard, and wifi drivers. "Out of the box" is probably overly simplistic, but with a little bit of work, probably. It's in a much better position than the Pandora, at least.
     
  6. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    And the rotation chip as well.
     
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,432
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Using the rotation chip in Android doesn't make any sense since it uses OpenGL all the time which handles the rotation without issues.
     
  8. notaz

    notaz Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    4,908
    Location:
    Lithuania
    What makes you think so? TI has official Android for OMAP3 too you know..
     
  9. fusion_power

    fusion_power Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,926
    Location:
    germany
    So we would not need the rotation chip at all if every Pyra-App and every Pyra OS would use OpenGL? ^^
     
  10. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,584
    Actually I didn't know that. Interesting. Did it help at all when you did your Android release?
     
  11. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,432
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Correct. When Wayland is ready, for example, that wouldn't be needed anymore.


    However, XOrg and all apps using the framebuffer can't use OpenGLES for that, therefore, we need the rotation chip for maximum performance.

    Well, it should be a BIT better, since Nikolaus keeps the Pyra PCB compatible with the EVM, so any EVM testing image should boot out of the box on the Pyra as well.


    That wasn't the case with the BeagleBoard / Pandora, AFAIR (as they were developped at the same time).
     
  12. Glyph Reader

    Glyph Reader Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Messages:
    332
     

    Does this mean you plan to switch to Wayland once it has become more stable? 

    -Glyph Reader
     
  13. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    9,837
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    Everyone plans to switch to Wayland when it's subjectively better than X, except for some weird tech stick-in-the-muds but whether that will happen within the Pyra's lifespan or not is still anybody's guess at present.
     
    AnimatedFreak, moxie and _jr_ like this.
  14. rohezal

    rohezal Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,651
    Rotation via OpenGL would use the GPU all the time. This could use more power then just rotate it in hardware.
     
  15. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,808
    I think Wayland is a bad idea, using the GPU for everything will drain the batter faster.
     
  16. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,584
    Depends on how much drain it actually is. Remember, Wayland brings a lot of new features that are worth considering.

    If it increases the drain by 5% against an idle system that seems like a very fair tradeoff to me, but we can take votes when (or *if*) it becomes an issue.

    Note also that Wayland doesn't have to use OpenGL(ES), from what I understand the protocol does support traditional drawing as well. If the power usage is a concern just turn off the OpenGLES path and keep using the rotation chip.

    edit:

    http://mirror.linux.org.au/linux.conf.au/2013/mp4/The_real_story_behind_Wayland_and_X.mp4
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 20, 2015
    AnimatedFreak and comradekingu like this.
  17. Galaxis

    Galaxis Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    The rotation chip doesn't come for free, either.
     
  18. ekianjo

    ekianjo Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Messages:
    8,261
    Location:
    神戸市、日本 (Japan)
    Wouldn't Wayland consume more battery though ? Running on OpenGL hardware constantly is bound to consumer more power, right ?  
     
    Silent-Hunter likes this.
  19. txus

    txus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    115
    Q:

    A:

    And http://www.vivantecorp.com/en/technology/composition.html (the Pyra's is the GC320, as seen in the specs).
     
  20. Cloudef

    Cloudef Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2009
    Messages:
    460
    Location:
    Gensokyo
    Wayland is just a protocol, however if you don't use OpenGL in the compositor, you have to use the rotation chip again. The compositor can use any technology it wants to draw on the screen, wayland itself is just a abstraction over programs communicating and sharing their buffer (what user should see).

    As for power usage, mobile GPUs are designed to use low power, which is also why it is sometimes PITA to program for them. I don't see that as much problem, especially when for example wayland compositor I'm developing has less wakeups than certain X11 terminal (or X11 itself). (most likely because X11 is very roundtrippy)

    Not using OpenGL when doing compositor also makes things much more diffcult, especially if you want to support EGL programs.

    However that said. The GPU again on pyra will probably have weird issues and DRM probably will be even more pain than it is normally and things don't actually work so well as just with good old framebuffer. Who knows.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 27, 2015
    bzar likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...