A Series Of Interviews #4 : The Paperwars Team

BAFelton

Website
www.open-consoles.com
628541oceanscene1b.jpg

Traylorpark, known with the Origami Golf project and Crow_riot, author of AudioRace showed their graphics and coding skills with PaperWars, a tactical wargame. Let's know a bit more about them...

BAF : First, could you introduce yourself and your team briefly ?

Traylorpark : My name is Peter Traylor (traylorpark). I was born in the US, Massachusetts. Currently, I’m living and working in Japan, near Tokyo. I’m an English teacher by day, and 3D artist by night. Mr. Crow-Riot hails from Austria and is probably one of the most talented and capable programmers I have ever worked with.

Crow_riot : Stephan aka crow_riot growing up and living somewhere in the heart of the mountains in Austria and Peter aka traylorpark, currently living in Japan.

BAF : How did you two meet ? What made you decide to work together ?

Traylorpark : Well I was just coming off a game called Origami Golf for the Caanoo. I had just stated in the devlog that the project would have to go on hiatus. Crow was also polishing up the Pandora port of his game, Audiorace. As we were both looking for something new, Crow suggested that it might be fun to collaborate on a future project.

I sent him a really long email with some renders of a tactics game I had been thinking about for a while. He really like the idea, and before you know it, an SVN was set up and we are off making a game!

Crow_riot : We've met on the gp32x forums. Peter was looking for some cooperation and i just jumped in and told him he should contact me if he's interested in working together with me. A few hours later i had a wall-of-text in my inbox where he introduced his ideas to me. I was amazed by the mockup art he showed me and there was no other decision possible than working together with this gifted guy.