4gb Sd Card Problems


Viddy

Still Fresh
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
2
Im the proud new owner of a GP2X and im new to the forum, so first things first - HI TO ALL!!!

ok now to why i need help..... :blink:

I bought a 4GB SD card and the GP2X doesnt read it. My PC reads it fine but whenever its in the GP2X it acts as if theres nothing there. I have a old 128meg card which it reads fine so i know its not the machine. Ive been told by a techy mate that its eomething to do with the PC reading it through Wnidows and the GP2X using Linux. How do i config the SD card on my PC to get it to work???

Thanks to ANYONE that can give me a hand!
 

Miika

Only Amiga makes it possible
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
664
Age
32
Website
Visit site
You should have found out that SDHC won't work on the GP2X firmware (yet) before you bought one.
However, you may want to check out this thread:
http://www.gp32x.de/board/index.php?showtopic=35840

Also, the propably upcoming Open2x firmware will support SDHC cards (I think)
Anyway, welcome and enjoy your GP2X!
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Zider

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
200
Age
45
Location
Sweden
Website
www.zider.se
Or it might be a 4GB SD card that simply doesn't work with the gp2x firmware. It isn't supposed to support 4GB after all. ;)
 

Miika

Only Amiga makes it possible
Joined
Mar 23, 2007
Messages
664
Age
32
Website
Visit site
Zider said:
Or it might be a 4GB SD card that simply doesn't work with the gp2x firmware. It isn't supposed to support 4GB after all. ;)
Why not? My regular 4GB SD works perfect. I know many people that use it.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Squidge

Certified Guru
Joined
Nov 16, 2003
Messages
8,493
Location
UK
Website
Visit site
There's multiple versions of 4GB cards, and it's doubtable that all will work. You may have just found one that doesn't.
 

Zider

Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2003
Messages
200
Age
45
Location
Sweden
Website
www.zider.se
Miika said:
Zider said:
Or it might be a 4GB SD card that simply doesn't work with the gp2x firmware. It isn't supposed to support 4GB after all. ;)
Why not? My regular 4GB SD works perfect. I know many people that use it.


Then you have one that works. His obviously doesn't.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

peelie

Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2007
Messages
887
just for general info: i just bought a Transcend 4Gb (x150) SD card and can confirm it works with the GP2X :)

cheers
 
Top