Wiz 3d Acceleration; Where's The Roof?

CronoTriggerfan

Website
pixelstopolygons.com
I got into a discussion about this with a friend on a gaming podcast (check us out if you care! :p ) about the Wiz. He's probably going to buy one while I'll probably wait for Pandora so we can compare homebrew throughout the lifecycle of each device.

Anywho, we started talking about the 3D acceleration aspect of the Wiz, and I got to thinking, "What's possible?" Could we get full-speed PSX someday? Perhaps some iteration of 3D Linux ports like TuxRacer and some older FPS's? I heard someone mention Quake 3 a while back, that seems a bit much to me, but I'm no programmer. Quake 2, perhaps?

I guess this is all speculation at this point, but I'm sure given the specs, someone could make an educated guess. Anyone care to try their hand? :p

Quake3 was demonstrated on the XGP which was had similar 3D capabilities and a much slower CPU. 200MHz ARM9 overclocked to 266MHz if I remember.

It ran very smooth, but had the view zoomed in through the entire video.

With the extra CPU speed and more modern architecture, maybe we could zoom-out this time.

So, Quake3, yes. Quake2, yes. PSX, yes. (Or atleast the graphics can keep up)

Just remember that the Pandora may have a CPU that is 7 or so times more powerful, but it will also have to render 5 times an many pixels which will need a higher LOD to look decent. Wiz has an ok 3D accelerator, a lot of power for such a small device.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uj5JIy6i5Kk

hmmm

Last edited by a moderator:
@icurafu I dont understand why a higher maximum resolution means you have to render at this size. You could render at 400x240 and still have a very good pixel density, about the same as the gp2x. Add to that bilinear filtering and it would look great, especially in a 3d game.

icurafu said: