Why the pandora 2 needs to emulate the playstation 2 ...

mrMono

Still Fresh
Well, i think the answer is quite obvious, it would sell like like hotcakes.

I'm not an expert about hardware, nor software.  This is just a thought (and a dream) I want to share.  Why not create a portable console capable of emulating the playstation 2?

I mean, hire some of the best hardware engineers, some of the best programmers out there (notaz, exo, ...) and design a console that would be capable of emulating the ps2.  Of course an emulator would need to be written (or ported) too.

Will the next generation of mobile processors will powerfull enough to achieve that? I know there are some very talented devs that could write (or port) the emulator but what do yo think?

Hopefully in the "near" future (2 years?), it'll be possible for an ARM processor.  Not currently.  That's also one of my dream capabilities in a handheld device, and maybe the ARMv8 (64 bit) processors might get there - not sure.  I'd ask an expert like Exophase.  He really knows his stuff.

Are you serial? The PS2 is a beast. It won't be emulated on ARM until atleast 2016.

Have you ever used PCSX2 on your PC?

hot.jpg

I bought a top-of-the-line ASUS gaming laptop for >$2500.

On this beast of a system, PCSX2 can just barely run PS2 games acceptably - with lots of hacks enabled.

Shadow of the Colossus is playable but choppy.  (note: my laptop has a good fan and it did not actually catch fire)

A PS2 emulator is not going to fit in your pocket any time soon.  If it could, it would likely set you on fire.

I'll be happy if a Pandora 2 is as powerful as the PS2 for native code.  It's very unlikely that it could emulate a PS2.  But of course, it would be nice!

Meanwhile, this also will not fit in your pocket:

https://www.youtube.com/embed/jU9nF7noYYU?feature=oembed

Last edited by a moderator:
Have you ever used PCSX2 on your PC?

I bought a top-of-the-line ASUS gaming laptop for >$2500.