Tv-out Problems...

cobrajs

Still Fresh
Hello everyone! I am relatively new to the GP2X world (I recieved mine about three weeks ago) and I have a few questions.

1) My main question: I got the TV-Out cable, and I hooked my GP2X up to the TV. Of course, it worked the first time. However, I discovered that it only works if I hold the cable in one position: if it moves down too much, the screen gets garbled. Is this normal? If not, could it be that a joint inside was not solder good enough?

2) Anyword on when the next firmware release is? I keep having wierd issues with the music player, like sometimes songs will not play, and sometimes they play a little bit fast.

3) About a USB cable: is there anywhere that I can get an EXT port compatible connection? Also, (new to electronics too) when the schematics say to ground the wires, what exactly does that mean? Do I literaly have to ground them?

Even with these minor problems, this thing is the best! The biggest thing that I get annoyed with it, however, is when someone comes up and says, "Oh sweet! You got a PSP!" ;)

1) This is common due to poor manufacture. You should be able to get a satisfactory fix however, by attaching a piece of 3x5 card to the head of the cable where it goes into the gp2x. The link below has more detailed instructions and pictures, though I skipped the step of filing it down and it still works very well for me.

http://www.gp2x.de/cgi-bin/cfiles.cgi?0,0,0,0,23,1255

That is easy enough. I was hoping it was the cable and not the GP2X. I guess I can start looking into building a USB cable now.

Vimacs: I got everything from GP32z.com, before they shut down.

well, easiest would be to get one from gp2x.co.uk or gp2x.de, they only sell the good ones.
You could also buy vectar wile you are on it :)

Or just wait for the cased bob.

naples39 posted on Aug 8 2006 at 07:31 AM said: