Release THOMSON TO8 Emulator, stable version 0.5.0

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by SladeCraven, Nov 11, 2011.

  1. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    Thomson TO8D PND emulator available here : http://repo.openpand...il&app=TO8D_PND , now in version 0.5.0


    Based on the original work of Daniel Coulom (http://dcmoto.free.fr/ ), ported by myself.


    Frecnh discussion thread, with links to programs and various informations : http://caanoo.foruma...ra-thomson-to8d


    Quick history of the TO7/8/9-MO5/6 computers here : http://boards.openpa...post__p__105633


    Version 0.5.0 (20/06/2012)

    • As my Pandora went back from repair, here we go again :)
    • New features : save states are now fully supported. Two new buttons in the interface allow to save and load states. Savestate files use the name of the k7/fd/memo file selected and add a "_<ID>.t8s" extension. Savestate files are located in the sstates folder. When selecting a k7/fd/memo file, the existing savestate files are available in the "Loadstate" menu. When saving a state, the files marked with (*) are already existing and will be overwritten if selected.
    • Various internal code enhancements, mainly for readability and speed enhancements (and many still pending ...)


    Version 0.4.0 (15/11/2011)

    • Faster and better palette handling (ie black is now really black), thanks to Daniel Coulom
    • Able to read ".sap" files : they are converted in ".fd" files (original filename with "_converted.fd" added)
    • Fix crash in keymap/joystick remap dialog windows (this one was hard to find, it was multi-threading related)
    • Roms folders (ie k7/, disks/, memo/) are automatically created in appdata/ if they do not exist.


    Version 0.3.0 (14/11/2011)

    • Minor speed gain, various code cleanup.
    • Use SDL_ttf instead of internal font, manage special characters
    • Remapping of keys should work now - not 100% tested.
    • Sound is OK - to be confirmed by testers
    • K7/DISKS/MEMO now in subfolders :
      appdata/to8d_pnd/k7/ for K7
    • appdata/to8d_pnd/disks/ for disks (.fd only up to now)
    • appdata/to8d_pnd/memo/ for .memo7 files
    [*]Ability to parse the whole folder tree from root if needed


    [*]Increase keyboard response (better key handling in games)



    Version 0.2.0 (11/11/2011)

    • 10% speed gain (mainly re-org of code for a a better inlining at compile time).
    • Fullscreen
    • Quit button added in the top bar
    • Documentation integrated


    Version 0.1.0 (10/11/2011)

    • Some basic speed improvments compared to the legacy version (ie at first run, the emulator was using 100% of the ARM CPU...). Now 40%, but still some big improvments to come (due to the strange original code ...)
    • Keyboard should be OK at 90% (some keys are missing like [] and ^), need more time to fix it
    • Still sounds issues, investigation to be done on that.


    Please give feedback.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 6, 2016
    Tags:
  2. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    Thanx a lot for this emulator !


    - How can you access the SD card to load roms ? I copy them on the ram to launch them.


    - How do you launch .fd ?
     
  3. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    Some help :

    • .fd shall be placed in SDCARD/pandora/appdata/to8_pnd/
    • to load the FD, click on the FD button in the main window, then click on the "B" choice in the TO8D welcome screen .
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2011
  4. StreaK

    StreaK Guest

    please include this info in pnd documentation in PND file..
     
  5. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    OK !


    So a few things :


    - many .k7 files work with DCMOTO, but not on DCTO8D emul. Maybe the build in DCMOTO is the latest. So i tried .fd files


    - thanks to you, I launched .fd with no problems


    - I tried .sap files but they don't seem to work. So I used my windows version of DCMOTO to launch them and it worked. As you know, when you load a .sap it creates a .fd of the game, so all we need is to convert them with DCMOTO to use them on DCTO8D. That's what I'm doing at the moment.


    - also I noticed : on DCMOTO the screen is a bit darker than DCTO8D, black is really black. On DCTO8D black turns to "pale black", could you do something for this ?


    Thanx for your work !


    EDIT : I have to try your new version :D
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 11, 2011
  6. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    yes, DCMOTO is really the latest version, but the source code is not released. Ideally, i should potrt DCMOTO directly instead of each emulator ony by one. I contacted Daniel Coulom on that topic, so wait and see.

    OK, i just discovered this format "nightmare" :) . If the source code of DCMOTO is not released, i will integrate the SAP->FD conversion inside DCTO8D.

    I will check.
     
  7. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    Many .fd games work, but there are some problems with the controls.


    I'd like to modify them with the menu 'manettes', but the panda freezes when I want to change them. Same problem with 'clavier'.


    That's really annoying cause many games use arrows or keypad to play.


    Could you take a look ?


    Thanks !
     
  8. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    Yes, i know there are issues wit the "Keyboard" and "Manettes" options windows. But as far as i know, the arrows and keypad are properly mapped to the PANDORA keyboard by default, so no need to remap them. Could you provide more details : which game ? which TO8D original keys ? and to which PANDORA keys it shall be mapped ?


    Thanks!
     
  9. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    Try Vampire.fd on the archive I uploaded, it seems you can't move.
     
  10. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    I tried the same .fd on the windows version, and the hero moves with the keypad (1,2,3,5 and Enter). But these keys are not emulated on the panda.


    It lacks the blue keys here :


    [​IMG]
     
  11. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    Should be fixed in v0.3.0, see first message.
     
  12. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    I have an issue :


    - when I click on k7, my .k7 appear (I made a k7 rep in appdata/to8_pnd)


    - but .fd and memo7 don't appear when I click, the menu doesn't appear...( i made a fs and memo7 rep)


    Do they have to be in a specific directory ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2011
  13. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    yes;

    • .fd -> disks/ folder
    • .memo7 -> memo/ folder


    Seel my changelog above :) , i will make it more clear
     
  14. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
    OK ! I'll try tonight.


    It really looks like the PC version now :D


    Thanx again for your hard work !
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 14, 2011
  15. BAFelton

    BAFelton Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,257
  16. scoobydoo

    scoobydoo Guest

    I wish I could read French. :wacko:


    WIZBALL is fun though.


    I found some games needed to be remapped which proved very difficult for me.


    I like the way you don't have to browse through a directory to find the disk ; easily accessible.


    Thank you,


    hak.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2011
  17. Seb

    Seb Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    thanks a lot, SladeCraven, i was waiting for that.


    I tried before emu made by zx81 on my psp but i can't get my very first video game (FBI on TO7-70) working


    Now, it works !


    I also have a request : would it be possible or is it way too much work to implant a save state ?


    Again, thanks
     
  18. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    Thanks for the comment :)


    I will try to implement this save state feature during the next 20 days.


    Keep posted!
     
  19. SladeCraven

    SladeCraven Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    Britanny, France
    Savestates supported in v0.5.0, see first post for details.
     
  20. Seb

    Seb Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Just in time for holidays ;)


    Thank you so much
     

Share This Page

Loading...