The Pyra Video Suggestions Thread


levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,732
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Saturn games are also on CD. It's dreamcast that potentially has the larger games, their discs being rated to store 1000MB. But if you haven't enough space for all three then I reckon you've picked the best, despite the saturn having some cracking games. For the MSX the only game I've seen to be good is Parodius on it, but I'm probably just not that up on MSX games.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I have enough space, but no Games for the Saturn, so i think a Pyra Owner whit a Sega Saturn should show these Games ^^..
Maybe i should look on a list for the best games and not try to download the whole RomPack for this System.. but this will need more than a few days of preparation..

EDIT: and why do my Neo Geo Video have only a few views but the PC Engine about 20... =
 
Last edited:

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,732
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
Well from my experience the Saturn is best at playing arcade games of the era such as Virtua Cop, Virtua Fighter 2 and Sega Rally. There are also some decent Saturn Exclusives such as Nights into Dreams and Burning Rangers made by Sonic Team before they went stale The only sonic game on the system is Sonic 3D Blast which was developed by Travellers Tales, and so no a patch on the original Japanese Sonic games.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I have no Saturn Games, so it’s not on my part to make a Video, or at least not in the next 2 months (tm) ..
So I need a different Suggestion ..
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,195
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
Don't you have some games on HumbleBundle, GoG or Itch.io stores? They provide DRM free games (well, HB also provides Steam, Epic and other stores key, so you have to check before bying) and some games runs with box86+gl4es. Depending on the games, I can guide you (like if you bought some of the big itch.io bundle).
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Well i think, for first, i will look for some Homebrew Rom Stuff for the System that are Emulatet, box86 is a cool System but still to high for my knowledge, maybe after some more 2 Months Cycles playing whit the Pyra and the Phytium PC..

Would still take its time to find anything, but as Thursday is a Work Free Day in Germany, i could show some of the Stuff then..
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,195
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
box86 is a cool System but still to high for my knowledge,.
When I was demonstrating Box86 on the Pyra at the JdLL, I was simply using the start menu to launch "WorldOfGoo". Just Start > Games > WorldOfGoo and it ran. Nothing more involved. And taht shortcut came from the installation:just launching the setup bash script and clicking next next, basicaly.
The only difference is that my system have gl4es directly in the system, no need to use "gl4es" shortcut.
menu.png
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
I will have a look, but not in the next few days..
Maybe it wasnt the best idea to try to run Wine on my Phytium whit Box as this where too difficult for my Knowledge Level,
just Download and Click on Stuff or Install via Terminal is much more near to my Level..
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
The Homebrew Roms where interesting, but not that for a Video, so i try now to get some Sega Saturn Games for the next Video, i wonder how good they run ^^
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
15,732
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
When I was demonstrating Box86 on the Pyra at the JdLL, I was simply using the start menu to launch "WorldOfGoo". Just Start > Games > WorldOfGoo and it ran. Nothing more involved. And taht shortcut came from the installation:just launching the setup bash script and clicking next next, basicaly.
The only difference is that my system have gl4es directly in the system, no need to use "gl4es" shortcut.
I guess you cab run everything under gl4es, even stuff that doesn't use an GL so that's fine. But how does you system know whether to run something through box86 instead of native? Perhaps box86 has a passthrough where if it detects arm code if runs the program natively instead, and installing box86 adds in a hook to run everything through that (at least everything launched from dmenu, so perhaps that's where the hook is).
 

ptitSeb

Serial Porter
Joined
Aug 15, 2012
Messages
9,195
Age
49
Location
France, near Lyon
I guess you cab run everything under gl4es, even stuff that doesn't use an GL so that's fine. But how does you system know whether to run something through box86 instead of native? Perhaps box86 has a passthrough where if it detects arm code if runs the program natively instead, and installing box86 adds in a hook to run everything through that (at least everything launched from dmenu, so perhaps that's where the hook is).
Installing box86 also setup binfmt (using systemd binfmt service) so every x86 elf linux file is launched with box86 automatically.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Made 2 Video yesterday because i forgott "Bangai-O" allthough this Game flickers quite too much on this Build of Reicast for the Pyra..
Its quite impressive how many Dreamcast Games are running..

Maybe its now time to play more for myself?
 

ClockworkCoder

Chaotic Neutral
Joined
Jan 21, 2016
Messages
2,278
Location
Menzoberranzan
Maybe its now time to play more for myself?
That would be good to hear.

Incidentally, I hate having to use my phone, is (do you find) the Pyra good for using these boards? One objective I have would be being able to put my phone away most of the time, and use the Pyra instead.
 

logen

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
53
That would be good to hear.

Incidentally, I hate having to use my phone, is (do you find) the Pyra good for using these boards? One objective I have would be being able to put my phone away most of the time, and use the Pyra instead.
I'm happily using my pyra to post this right now.

It's a bit of a learning curve, and a bit slower due to thumb typing, but the keys are very responsive. I enjoy it.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Yes, browsing this Board whit the Pyra works quite good, even whit this Omap 5, its just a bit anoying that you cant standbye the Device so you have to boot up the Pyra every time you want to check something..
Therefore im still mostly whit my Iphone on this Boards but i think when the Rockchip is installed and running, it will get a Standbye Mode like the Pandora had at its time..

I wonder what the Rockchip could made out the Saturn Emulator..
 

logen

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2012
Messages
53
its just a bit anoying that you cant standbye the Device so you have to boot up the Pyra every time you want to check something..
I don't mind so much. I try not to use my phone for computing. First, the experience is awful, especially on iOS.

Second, we really don't need these things to be so easy.

It's probably horrible for us to have such quick and easy access to the internet.
 

matzesu

Forum Addict!
Staff member
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
12,429
Age
38
Location
Germany,, Saarland, at home
Because a User on Youtube requestet a new Video just of one GBA Game (This Acrobat Game), i request now again:
Could please more Pyra Users make Videos? Its not that difficult, just a bit aiming of the Camera to the Pyra, maybe talking a bit, and upload..

I also ditnt need to cut so its not that big amount of work..
 
Top