Tech Demo Of Upcoming Camp Horror Sidescroller

authoreyes

Website
www.markandmarina.com
Hi everyone -

Here is a quick tech demo of a side scroller engine I am developing in C++ (using sdl / opengl) for the Pandora. Most of the game engine is done....Eventing needs a little work, but most of the framework code is there. The art is temporary as I am a coder, not an artist....

As such, I have recruited an artist with a flair for the surreal/comic-gothic to provide the pixels so within the next few weeks hopefully this will get much more professional looking. The gameplay is slated to be a facsimile of Super Castlevania 4, one of my all time favorites...

Video Link :

http://vimeo.com/7759306

It's great, I always loved Castlevania games.
I'm really happy to see that kind of old school platformer coming to the Pandora. :D
Do you plan on making the player able to play with the whip like in the original game?

I would like to make a Castlevania Symphony of the Night clone, but with 3D graphics using irrlicht (a bit like the remake of Dracula X on PSP).
But at the moment I'm far from having enough knowledge to do anything as great as you've done. :p

Wow -

Thanks for the kind words!

As of right now, I am totally open to suggestions regarding plot points, etc...

I really have focused the last few months on making the engine as re-usable as possible (as I have other ideas for games past this) Content wasn't a focus as I knew I wanted a real artist to do the graphics.

Now I have one, someone specializing in comic stylings as well as surrealistic fine art, so the plot, locations, characters, can now start to take shape.

So, what do you guys think? I haven't decided on melee or projectile weapons (or both) yet...

I meet with the artist this week, so if anyone wants to suggest possible direction, feel free!

Sword-chucks! :p