Swappable Keyboard Layer?

Would you be interested in a swappable keyboard?

• Yes, I think it'd be a killer feature

Votes: 4 13.8%
  • Yes, but not if it's too much trouble

Votes: 12 41.4%
  • No, but I realize others would really like it

Votes: 3 10.3%
  • No, I don't think Pyra should have it

Votes: 10 34.5%

• Total voters

mrpalmtop

Very Active Member
Hello everyone. It's my first post here but I have been a pocket computer user for a very long time and as such have been following the Pandora/Pyra progress for a long time. I'm a professional editor and also a web developer and I've long loved the utility that one can achieve from pocket-sized computers that have real keyboards.

I started off with a used HP 95LX in 1995 and have been using handheld computers non-stop since then in various form factors (200LX, WinCE, Psion, Zaurus). One thing that has always bothered me about the Pandora is its keyboard. I write a lot of text on my HP Jornada 728 and as such, I like a keyboard that has 5 rows of keys with the spacebar in the middle and sufficient space for dedicated punctuation keys.

That said, I know that many, probably most, Pandora users purchased the devices for gaming because of the joysticks and d-pad on the keyboard.

Given that there appear to be very few people interested in something other than a very limited tablet or smartphone, might there be a way to achieve compromise between the two groups of people who like the Pandora?

I think there is: the swappable keyboard.

I'm not an engineer but it would seem to me if the Pyra were to have a layer on the top of the base that could be slid out, this would enable us to have more than one kind of keyboard for the device.