Stinkin' Newbie Needs Your Help

Duddyroar

Website
www.vc-reviews.com
Ok. So I've ordered my GP32, should hopefully get it tomorrow, I've ordered a 128 SMC and that should be with me by the end of the week.

So what the hell do I do when they get here?

I'll be honest, I'm new to all this. I dabbled in the emu scene a little bit a couple of years ago and I've not really touched it since. Not a huge amount of this stuff makes any sense to me and I need a little advice on what to do when my lovely GP32 drops onto the doormat.

So what are the basic steps for setting the machine up? I know you have to go to Gamepark's site and register, but what's all this 'Flashing firmware' malarky? Why is it so risky (some people say it fries their machines - as you can imagine, this worries me)? Does the machine play video files as standard, or will I have to buy 'MoviePark' or whatever it's called? I know Wind Ups is a Windows style interface but is there anything else I need to know?

Thanks in advance for the help! :)

Hi and welcome in the GP32 user family :)