Shift no longer drags windows


ChaosWarmech

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
349
Location
Ok
So when I try to drag a window with the Shift key it doesn't work... It worked up until today, and I have no idea what would have triggered it to stop working... Is there a setting or a conf file somewhere so I can reenable it? It shouldn't be a problem, but it might be necessary some day.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MarioPandio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
1,378
Location
Half way up the stair
Does the shift key still create a response in the op_test_inputs programme from the terminal?


Edit : The key file is probably the one in the home directory called .pndXmodmap (ctrl-h to see hidden files).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ChaosWarmech

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
349
Location
Ok
The shift and L keys are still working just fine, they just don't grab windows like they used to....
 

MarioPandio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
1,378
Location
Half way up the stair
This might be of use http://forums.gentoo...06-start-0.html


It suggests deleting the cache contents of a config file related to xfce settings.


In addition you could try this : http://www.gp32x.de...post__p__890797


Make a back up of the xfce4 folder in the location below and put it somewhere. Then delete the original and reboot. This will refresh the xfce4 settings with a default copy and perhaps fix the issue. No guarantees.


'Delete Xfce-4 from Home>UserName>Applications>Settings>xfce-4' and reboot.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

ChaosWarmech

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
349
Location
Ok
This might be of use http://forums.gentoo...06-start-0.html


It suggests deleting the cache contents of a config file related to xfce settings.


In addition you could try this : http://www.gp32x.de...post__p__890797


Make a back up of the xfce4 folder in the location below and put it somewhere. Then delete the original and reboot. This will refresh the xfce4 settings with a default copy and perhaps fix the issue. No guarantees.


'Delete Xfce-4 from Home>UserName>Applications>Settings>xfce-4' and reboot.
No dice =\. But now that I know of this folder I can make a back up and reflash without losing all my settings. I guess I'll do that if it starts to bug me.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

MarioPandio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2010
Messages
1,378
Location
Half way up the stair
Pity that seemed to be a related problem the Gentoo guy was having. Its always nice to be able to track down the weird bugs rather than reflashing, though thats still a pretty fast process.


I think that folder can act as a backup but from the thread I linked, read on abit, as I think it can introduce some oddities when you first copy it over, so a few settings need tweaks to restore desktop icons and such properly, then its potentially all roses.
 

ChaosWarmech

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
349
Location
Ok
Okay, now I'm completely baffled. A reflash didn't fix it. How could that be possible? I really don't understand, it's a software issue that wasn't fixed by a reflash... WTF?
 

ChaosWarmech

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2011
Messages
349
Location
Ok
Okay, now I feel retarded.... I asked ED on IRC if he might know what's causing the problem, and he didn't know. But while talking to him I realized I should try the stylus to drag, and it worked.... So then I thought why the stylus would and the nub wouldn't. Because it clicks.... So you have to shift+click+drag.... I outta slap myself.


I retract my previous post... I am a noob :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top