Shadow Warrior: A Request

I think linux is harder

When I first ground my teeth into redhat 5.1, and then Slackware, I found it to be a walk in the park compared to the head bashing sessions I had with C tutorials. I believe there are many more programmers than Linux users in the world, therefore I'm sure programming is more accessible once I know the right route.

I'm sure with that analogy in mind, you can see why I get so frustrated with programming.

I understand why you consider it a mortal sin to ask someone to program for you, I can see where you're coming from because of many posts of people demanding this emulator or that emulator. In that case I should have rephrased my post. I simply wanted to know if it was feasible yet, and I discovered later on its still less feasible than Duke3D because the code hasn't been ported to SDL yet, I dont think at least. Jonofs port does look rather nice though.

Anyway, if you were self taught completely, then I take back the hypocrite remark, but I do know there are many people out there who learned things the 'easy' way, and didn't pay the favor forward, instead resorting to elitism.

Auritribe posted on Oct 28 2005 at 12:05 PM said:
I think linux is harder
Anyway, if you were self taught completely, then I take back the hypocrite remark, but I do know there are many people out there who learned things the 'easy' way, and didn't pay the favor forward, instead resorting to elitism.

Agreed, "didn't pay the favor forward, instead resorting to elitism.", nice quote.

Last edited by a moderator:
reaper79 posted on Oct 28 2005 at 05:25 PM said:
Auritribe posted on Oct 28 2005 at 12:05 PM said:
I think linux is harder

Agreed, "didn't pay the favor forward, instead resorting to elitism.", nice quote.

??? I don't understand..

Not so releveant to learning c/c++, but there are some good books here for learning unix / linux. I mostly use it for the books on perl and java though.

Check it out anyway if you get a chance.