Sdhc Compressed File System?

TitanUranus

Ok, so far there's been some questions about the best format for SDHC cards. In my eyes, one cruicial problem is space. Face it, there's a gigabyte arms race out there, and with more modern applications and systems, a few gigs doesn't seem as impressive as they once did. Bigger in this case is obviously better, and we wan't our megs and we all want them NOW!

I'm fairly new to linux, but one feature I've always loved about NTFS is the ability to turn drive compression on. Back in the days of poxy little 20mb/40mb HDD's drive compression was virtually mandatory. It also had the bonus that most of the algorythms were... er ... 'zippy' enough that it actually saved time accessing slow drives even on the most piss poor hardware.

This is a simple enough to answer I'm sure for all you clever people, but please indulge me. Will compressed NTFS work with SDHC's used in the Pandora? Is there already a better linux alternative? What's the gains? What's the losses? If less megs have to be read/written to SDHC, won't it increase read/write times as well as life span? Are there any drawbacks? Has it been tested already? If not why not? And why do I have to ask so many questions about something so simple to answer?

EDIT: I recall something about user privelages being a bit of a PITA with FAT file systems, but I'm sure that will dissapear with the next firmware release. Can SDHC be formatted to NTFS compressed anyway? I know they can be formatted to linux ext2 cause someone said so.

EDIT2: I'd swear that I wrote SDHC (as is correct for an anacronym) not Sdhc with 3 lower case letters in the title. Please sort the title filter so it only corrects me when I'm wrong!

Thanks for the reply. Has anyone with a pandora tried using an SDHC with compressed NTFS?

For a read-only compressed filesystem, the choice is obvious: Use SquashFS.