Questions, Curiosities Re: the Business-end of Open-Pandora

modzombie

Still Fresh
As a web developer, I know through pain and suffering that a client's deadline is a deadline is a deadline; I've faced enough repercussions (everything short of a syndicate), to avoid the bad news at all costs. I also know, in further dealings with businesses, there are many ways to mitigate this..

I'm going to take a stab at some questions, perhaps touchy, which I imagine others would like to know if they haven't asked already (and if they did, I apologize as my search yielded no similar threads):

1. Why not build the batches prior to taking orders? (See "6")
  2. Have you tried hounding/bribing the manufacturers for faster results? Or, have you ever considered firing your outsource for another manufacturer? I know these practices seem a little seedy, but I imagine other companies do this (doesn't make it right, I know)
  3. For the assembly process, if shortage of workers is anything to blame, have you thought of or tried hiring more people?
  4. Do you ever want to see the Pandora get an outrageous amount of sales, or are you content now (perhaps out of fear?)
  5. Have you thought of hiring a strong marketing firm?
  6. If for any of the preceding questions, the reason was, "We didn't have enough money to invest", was there any interest in finding that ultra-rich, ultra-geek investor(s) who will fork over a mill (or two, or three) for you guys? If so, what happened?

Please note, I'm not attacking OpenPandora; On the contrary, I'm fishing for some answers I'm hoping I'll hear. I actually have a lot of faith in OP, and I applaud them for the way they've handled things (like, for example, not hiring a bunch of suits-and-ties, with no passion for this sort of thing, who want nothing more than to leach off of Craig et al).

EDIT: I guess I missed the "Investors..." thread started by Craig. However, I believe the question still applies to 1-5 here.

Last edited by a moderator: