Pandora Pandora Widgets

CandidStan

Hello,

This is my first time posting in the Developers' Corner, and this time its an idea.

I was watching this and I was wondering if these widgets (open source willing) will be developed on the Pandora. (Basically I'm calling anyone who can develop for the Pandora out)

-Thanks,
Candidstan

Last edited by a moderator:
Basically I'm thinking all the ones currently available in the iPhone 2.0 OS.

(Of course not ones like rotary dial, and others that require hardware that the Pandora doesn't have, or hardware that the user can't supply.)

Pandora is a completely different device with a completely different way in which users interface.

You're more likely to find code that matches the Pandora by looking at a number of much better sources. Like happypenguin, freegamer @blogspot or the SDL homepage.

On the positive side, they both use OpenGL ES.

You mean apps, not widgets. None of the iPhone ones will ever work, as they all use apple's very restricting iPhone API. There will be plenty of apps ported from desktop linux and not only.

I think the iPhone has OpenGL 1.1 though.

Only thing we're sure is that the Pandora will have support for ES 2.0, nothing more or less at the moment.

icurafu said:
we know es 1.1 is supported in the hardware.

I'd be more worried that ES 2.0 won't be available on p-day.

I'm pretty sure of what I just said ;)

We are only sure that the current drivers support ES 2.0 already. I have no information on other standards, be it regular GL, ES 1.0 or 1.1 or whatever.

The hardware supports all of GL 1, ES 1 and ES 2. Maybe GL2, can't remember that one. The drivers are what determines the available APIs.

Tinnus said:
icurafu said:
we know es 1.1 is supported in the hardware.

I'd be more worried that ES 2.0 won't be available on p-day.

I'm pretty sure of what I just said ;)