Release Pandora-2600: Atari 2600 Emulator For Pandora V1.1.0

Discussion in 'Software Releases' started by zx-81, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    pandora-2600-v110.jpg

    Hi All,

    Stella is on of the best emulator of Atari 2600 game console, running on many different systems,
    such as Linux, Solaris, Windows, MacOS/X, WinCE, OS/2, GP2X.

    It has been written initially by Bradford Mott, see Stella site for details.

    Here is a port on Pandora of the version i've previously ported to Wiz.

    Many new features have been added compared to original version.

    How to use it ? Everything is in the README.txt file.

    A full working PND version is available on my blog : http://zx81.zx81.free.fr/

    Enjoy,

    Zx.
     
    Tags:
  2. Jumpman

    Jumpman Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    3,066
    Location:
    Sin City
    zx-81, you are a machine. You turn out these emu's like there's no tommorow. Your the best!

    Bring on the 5200/7800 and I'll be in a very good place.

    Chris
     
  3. alerino

    alerino Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,200
    ZX-81 is top of the pops!

    one report: bobby is going home (i know it's a gayish game) doesn't work on both 2600 emulators, damn!
     
  4. Prometheus

    Prometheus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,474
    Wonderful! Thankyou very, very much. I'm very pleased to see that it has PAL support, too! grin.gif Most excellent!

    Now I can play Cosmic Ark on the go. :D (Much of my collection is NTSC, but my Cosmic Ark cartridge is a PAL one.)
     
  5. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,750
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Really nice - however, I just noticed you are using a wrong category for all your emulators:
    You are using Application / Emulator whereas it shouldbe Game / Emulator

    Thanks a lot for all the nice stuff :D
     
  6. Mjlink

    Mjlink ithic.com

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    894
    Location:
    Bernie Sanders' Land
    I wouldn't put this on my GP2X or Dingoo. Looking forward to it on the Pandora.

    Peace & Pandora,

    Link
     
  7. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes, it didn't know which Category i should use. is there any "standard" described somewhere ?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  8. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,750
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Yes, they follow the Freedesktop Standard:

    http://standards.freedesktop.org/menu-spec/latest/apa.html
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2015
  9. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    i will then follow this standard, thanks.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  10. puppydee

    puppydee Linux Virgin!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Do you actually sleep zx-81? I like the setup of these emulators they're really easy to use and being able to use as much of the pandoras screen is great. I dont suppose a spectrum emu is on the cards aswell with the similar setup? Hope so. Thanks for all your hardwork :)
     
  11. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    i didn't port a spectrum emu, but i can start :). Same for many other classical emus.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  12. jaycee900

    jaycee900 Gamer Since 1980

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2004
    Messages:
    456
    Location:
    Cambs, UK
    Please do, ditto to the puppydee's comment, your's clean, easy to use, there is one small thing though, if possible can you allow more visable characters on your rom selection screens please, a few of my games are different versions but i cant see the full title name, if you only up it by 10 characters that would be something, thanks

    Keep up the great emulator work! here's a few ideas! Electron, Apple 2, Channel F, Intellivision, Sam Coupe, Vectrex, Speccy!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  13. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,750
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    Yes, the emulators work fine and I also love classic machines :D

    One thing I would add (except for that cut-off rom names) would be remembering the last rom-directory :)
     
  14. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth
    it's already the case. The default rom directory is the rom folder in pandora/appdata/a2600 ... but if you choose a rom in another folder using the menu, and exit the emulator properly the last rom folder is saved in a global.cfg file. NExt time you start the emu, then this folder will be the default one.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  15. puppydee

    puppydee Linux Virgin!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Best news I've heard all night. Where can I send beer money? Let me know and it shall be done :)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  16. Asmo

    Asmo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,279
    How about one of your namesake, the ZX81?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  17. zx-81

    zx-81 Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Earth

    good idea, i can port my gp2x version.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  18. Asmo

    Asmo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,279
    3D Monster Maze! Joy!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  19. puppydee

    puppydee Linux Virgin!

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    I owned a ZX81 back when they where top spec machines, lol. Even had a printer but I never enjoyed playing any of the games on it. I ditched it for a ZX Spectrum+ with the hard keys, I loved that machine until my cousin got a C64 so I got C64 which died in the first week so it went back to the shop to be repaired and they sent it off to get fixed, then weeks later it had apparently got lost so the shop gave us a C16 while they located it which never happened because the shop went out of businness in the process so we ended up buying an Amstrad CPC464 which I thought was pretty cool at the time. Then my next machine was an Amiga, was probably the best machine I ever bought, then I had nothing after that until I bought a pc 6 or 7 years ago.
     
  20. lomaxx

    lomaxx Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    682
    Are there any commandline-parameters? I would like to start a specific game by using pnd_run and passing a rom as argument. I didn't find anything so far.

    Edit: uhm, sorry for pushing this thread in the news-forum. I found it by searching the forum and didn't notice it is in here before replying.
     

Share This Page

Loading...