Opentyrian Gp32 V1.0

Discussion in 'News zone' started by slaanesh, Jan 2, 2010.

  1. slaanesh

    slaanesh Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,979
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Another new release for the GP32 this time OpenTyrian for the GP32.

    What's OpenTyrian? It's a port of the classic DOS shooter Tyrian. If you like vertically scrolling shooters, than this is for you!

    Why support the GP32? Why not? It's fun to develop for the GP32 and it's still a great machine. Probably my favourite handheld still.

    shot12_0000.png

    Details and download links at OpenTyrian for GP32.
     
    Tags:
  2. kolibri

    kolibri Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Location:
    France
    Yeah ! A new GP32 release, that's great !

    Thank you very much for all Slaanesh !
     
  3. senquack

    senquack I feel a great disturbance in the source

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,168
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, this is one I didn't expect to see ;) I never had a GP32 but wow..
     
  4. Alex.

    Alex. Retired

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    4,617
    Very nice release, performance is great even with Pentium details :)

    The Blu+ version does not work properly for me though, it freezes at various points before ever getting to the actual game. The speed is the default 133MHz with good batts, and I redownloaded the zip just in case I've got a corrupted copy. Sometimes it freezes at the black boot screen after it detects the joypad, or after it inits sound. Other times it gets to the title screen, but blocks as the large "Tyrian" banner scrolls up, or the joypad up/down does not work, only A.
     
  5. Dave18

    Dave18 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Great release

    I love having my GP32 NLU when on a sunny holiday as the screen comes into its own. I'll certainly be adding this to my collection.

    I've always loved the challenge of trying to produce efficient code for the GP32.

    Thanks

    Dave
     
  6. slaanesh

    slaanesh Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,979
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Damn! Found the problem. It's fixed now. I've uploaded an updated version v1.01 - the only change is that the BLU+ version is fixed. Thanks for the find!
    Grab it once the file archive has updated!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  7. strider_mt2k

    strider_mt2k Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Location:
    Southern New Jersey, USA
    VERY nice game, and runs well!

    Thanks!
     
  8. camiga64

    camiga64 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2006
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Germany
    WOW - One of the best shooter games for the GP32, if not the best.

    Thanks for this excellent port, slaanesh. :)
     
  9. slaanesh

    slaanesh Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,979
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    I'm happy that there at least a few GP32 users still out there!

    I've always felt that the cycle from one machine to the next is getting shorter and shorter - there's often still plenty of life left in the previous generation.

    I've still got some more releases for the GP32 - including a brand new emulator that fills a gap in the current GP32 line-up of emulated platforms. :)
     
  10. Gruntfuggly

    Gruntfuggly Mostly Harmless

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Messages:
    1,486
    Location:
    Brighton, UK
    There must be a few of us - my GP32 gets more use than the GP2X!

    I haven't had a chance to try OpenTyrian yet - hopefully tonight...

    Looking forwards to your next release - give us a clue about the missing emulator?
     
  11. triksR4rabits

    triksR4rabits The Dutchmaster

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    954
    Location:
    Manhattan, NY
    This is awesome slaanesh; thanks for bringing one of my favorite games to my favorite handheld :)

    This will no doubt hold me over for some time though, but looking forward to your upcoming releases too!
     
  12. BaDToaD

    BaDToaD "Very" Old Timer

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2004
    Messages:
    2,452
    Location:
    UK
    I was giving this a go at the weekend and it's great. Many thanks Slaanesh. B)

    Now if only my reactions were as good as they used to be 20 years ago ;)
     
  13. jmetal88

    jmetal88 Erm.... Woohoo!

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,837
    Location:
    Pittsburg, KS
    Question: Are there any plans to make 'Quit' reset the GP32? I just get a black screen when I select it.
     
  14. slaanesh

    slaanesh Certified Guru

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,979
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    It should quit, but because it's not using the GPSDK, writing to SMC is slow. So just wait a bit and it should come back and reset...

    Just as a matter of interest, that's why it takes to long to "load" a level before you play. It's not actually the loading - that's quick - it's creating a save writing to the SMC - and it's slow.

    Let me know how it goes.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015

Share This Page

Loading...