Open Source

quindo

Still Fresh
Hello,

Owning a Nokia 770 and having been shutout by Nokia when the N800 came out I've got some bad experiences with proprietary 'extensions' of open source software.

From what I understand from previous threats the Pandora team is trying to get as much parts of the Os open source/free as they can. I would like to know if they expect that a 'power' user will be able to compile a new kernel and still be able to use the features of the pandora (BT, wireless, 3d etc.)?

With the Nokia 770 a few parts rely completely on proprietary code (wireless for example).
This has limited the lifespan of the 770 considerably. No new kernel can be compiled without losing vital parts of the system (an internettablet without wireless?).

I can understand that parts will have to be closed because vendors will not allow it to be opensourced but I hope that those parts will not inhibit a new kernel from being compiled that can use the complete system.
(Vmware springs to mind, there software is closed but a new kernel can be compiled with vmware-modules included).

I don't really understand how they can release a kernel that's hard compiled against open source components and still comply with the GPL in the first place. My understanding is that there will be open source glue components that are freely available for accessing the proprietary logic which will be loaded as kernel modules. So long as the abstraction remains there I don't see any reason why you shouldn't be able to build your own kernel in exactly the same way.

I don't really understand how they can release a kernel that's hard compiled against open source components and still comply with the GPL in the first place.