Open Source And Possiblity's?


schaap2005

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
106
Age
31
Location
Netherlands
Website
Visit site
Hi, I am a newbie but: is it possbile to use 3d engines from open source games like wolfenstein 3d and build totally new games with it?
I don't know something about programming but it's worth to post.
I want to have more 3d games. :p
 

psj3809

Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2004
Messages
491
I presume it must be.

I'm not 100% sure but surely with Doom working it might be possible to use other shareware wads ?

I remember years ago creating some simple Doom wads to use myself . Tons of these can be downloaded from the net and some are very good indeed.

Surely as the main Doom engine is working on the GP32 it could play different wads ?
 

schaap2005

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
106
Age
31
Location
Netherlands
Website
Visit site
I now that there are more games that run on quake 3 engine, so it must be possible (unfortunately i have'nt skills for it) make a new game with an old engine.
 

ravuya

Member
Joined
May 11, 2004
Messages
443
Location
AB Canada
Website
rav.realitybytes.tk
schaap2005 posted on Mar 18 2005 at 02:56 AM said:
I now that there are more games that run on quake 3 engine, so it must be possible (unfortunately i have'nt skills for it) make a new game with an old engine.

Yes, it's possible to make a new game on the same hardware with the same engine. However, porting the bloody thing to something like the GP32 is somewhat more involved.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
schaap2005 posted on Mar 16 2005 at 04:43 PM said:
Hi, I am a newbie but: is it possbile to use 3d engines from open source games like wolfenstein 3d and build totally new games with it?
I don't know something about programming but it's worth to post.
I want to have more 3d games. :p

Since Doom and Wolf use PC wads you can make your own with the PC Doom editors out there.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Winterkid

Member
Joined
Nov 15, 2004
Messages
942
Age
49
Location
Surrey BC CANADA
Website
Visit site
I've made lots of Doom wads.... Some with alternate graphics, even... I've got 3 books on the subject in fact... *Nod* And all the ones I've made and tried on the GP32 have worked.
 

Rik

Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2004
Messages
103
Age
38
Website
Visit site
Yeah, the iwad contains all the graphics sound aswell as levels, you can get lots of wad editors online, and if you can get hold of the GP32 source, you can edit how each weapon / monster behaves etc. too, so it'd be quite straightforward to make an entirely new game. If you can be bothered to make a bunch of levels, textures, sounds, music, and sprites that is.
 

schaap2005

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
106
Age
31
Location
Netherlands
Website
Visit site
I have a great idea :D
I am going to download counterstrike (source) levels and place them into doom :D
But first I have to buy a console :(
I can't choose between the Gizmondo (expensive) zodiac and the gamepark. someone can give me a good advice?
I will use it for
80% gaming (3d games and snes emu)
10% mp3
7,5% movies
2,5% :p ermm
 

trooper

Trooper`s watching you !!!
Joined
Apr 20, 2003
Messages
5,503
Location
The DarkSide (London)
Website
Visit site
schaap2005 posted on Mar 22 2005 at 09:51 AM said:
I have a great idea :D
I am going to download counterstrike (source) levels and place them into doom :D
But first I have to buy a console :(
I can't choose between the Gizmondo (expensive) zodiac and the gamepark. someone can give me a good advice?
I will use it for
80% gaming (3d games and snes emu)
10% mp3
7,5% movies
2,5% :p ermm

Not much is known about software support or any other support for that matter for the gizmondo (It`s pretty much a dead system afaik).

Zodiac is also a dieing system, Support for the system is being dropped afaik. Partly why it is being sold realy cheap atm. Correct me if i am wrong.

That leaves you with the GP32.

Conclusion,

Get a GP32, You know it makes sense. :D

Trooper
 
Last edited by a moderator:

schaap2005

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
106
Age
31
Location
Netherlands
Website
Visit site
Hehe that's roght, but Gizmondo has 3d accerlation (goforce 4500). I like to play 3d games, but the Gamepark has no 3d accerlator, and his cpu is too slow to render nice grapichs.http://www.gizmondo.com/games/item.asp?start=a&end=e&id=4
It's almost like gta3!
And I am not smart enough to make my own 3d game. :D
 

trooper

Trooper`s watching you !!!
Joined
Apr 20, 2003
Messages
5,503
Location
The DarkSide (London)
Website
Visit site
schaap2005 posted on Mar 22 2005 at 01:52 PM said:
Hehe that's roght, but Gizmondo has 3d accerlation (goforce 4500). I like to play 3d games, but the Gamepark has no 3d accerlator, and his cpu is too slow to render nice grapichs.http://www.gizmondo.com/games/item.asp?start=a&end=e&id=4
It's almost like gta3!
And I am not smart enough to make my own 3d game. :D

In that case the PSP in your baby.

Trooper
 
Last edited by a moderator:

schaap2005

Member
Joined
Mar 6, 2005
Messages
106
Age
31
Location
Netherlands
Website
Visit site
trooper posted on Mar 22 2005 at 04:00 PM said:
schaap2005 posted on Mar 22 2005 at 01:52 PM said:
Hehe that's roght, but Gizmondo has 3d accerlation (goforce 4500). I like to play 3d games, but the Gamepark has no 3d accerlator, and his cpu is too slow to render nice grapichs.http://www.gizmondo.com/games/item.asp?start=a&end=e&id=4
It's almost like gta3!
And I am not smart enough to make my own 3d game. :D

In that case the PSP in your baby.

Trooper

The psp doesn't has open-source possibilities and, and it has no o/s, that's not want I wan't. And I like to have something unique :p
 
Last edited by a moderator:

trooper

Trooper`s watching you !!!
Joined
Apr 20, 2003
Messages
5,503
Location
The DarkSide (London)
Website
Visit site
schaap2005 posted on Mar 22 2005 at 05:08 PM said:
trooper posted on Mar 22 2005 at 04:00 PM said:
schaap2005 posted on Mar 22 2005 at 01:52 PM said:
Hehe that's roght, but Gizmondo has 3d accerlation (goforce 4500). I like to play 3d games, but the Gamepark has no 3d accerlator, and his cpu is too slow to render nice grapichs.http://www.gizmondo.com/games/item.asp?start=a&end=e&id=4
It's almost like gta3!
And I am not smart enough to make my own 3d game. :D

In that case the PSP in your baby.

Trooper

The psp doesn't has open-source possibilities and, and it has no o/s, that's not want I wan't. And I like to have something unique :p

And the Gizmondo is open source ?.

Trooper
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top