Open Source And Possiblity's?

schaap2005

Website
Visit site
Hi, I am a newbie but: is it possbile to use 3d engines from open source games like wolfenstein 3d and build totally new games with it?
I don't know something about programming but it's worth to post.
I want to have more 3d games. :p

I presume it must be.

I'm not 100% sure but surely with Doom working it might be possible to use other shareware wads ?

I remember years ago creating some simple Doom wads to use myself . Tons of these can be downloaded from the net and some are very good indeed.

Surely as the main Doom engine is working on the GP32 it could play different wads ?

I now that there are more games that run on quake 3 engine, so it must be possible (unfortunately i have'nt skills for it) make a new game with an old engine.

schaap2005 posted on Mar 18 2005 at 02:56 AM said:
I now that there are more games that run on quake 3 engine, so it must be possible (unfortunately i have'nt skills for it) make a new game with an old engine.

Yes, it's possible to make a new game on the same hardware with the same engine. However, porting the bloody thing to something like the GP32 is somewhat more involved.

Last edited by a moderator:
schaap2005 posted on Mar 16 2005 at 04:43 PM said:
Hi, I am a newbie but: is it possbile to use 3d engines from open source games like wolfenstein 3d and build totally new games with it?
I don't know something about programming but it's worth to post.
I want to have more 3d games. :p

Since Doom and Wolf use PC wads you can make your own with the PC Doom editors out there.

I've made lots of Doom wads.... Some with alternate graphics, even... I've got 3 books on the subject in fact... *Nod* And all the ones I've made and tried on the GP32 have worked.