Okay, I Lied...more Help Needed With Gpsp (gba Emu)

maj_hassel

Still Fresh
I've installed the game, read the README and am thoroughly stuck.

Here's what's happening (Please forgive me if I use incorrect terminology--Linux newbie here):
  • I start the program gpsp
  • I start the program gpsp
  • I get a settings menu (looks like a BIOS screen)
  • I hit [SELECT] to set the settings and quit out of this screen
  • I get a blue screen with a file path at the top and I can highlight either gba_bios.bin; roms; or ++
MY PROBLEM From here I can only:
  • Navigate backwards by hitting X and eventually ending back at the root (/)
  • Jump directly to the root by clicking Left
  • Jump to a menu screen by clicking Y -- if I select "Load New Game" I get a Game Boy splash screen and then everything locks
When I am at the screen which shows the directory and it's subs, I can highlight roms (where my games are) but I can't select it. I can only navigate backwards to the /. I can't figure out how to open the roms folder to select my game.

I have no idea what I'm doing wrong.

Thanks in advance for any advice offered.

If you really hate the file selector menu, you can use Gmenu2x's instead, that's what I do.

But if you want to continue with the included file selector, heres what you do:

So I guess you have gba_bios.bin highlighted in white. Press right to select .. and then down to select roms. Press X (you may have to press it twice to register correctly). Press left, then select your rom with up/down. Then press X to load the rom.

Its not really difficult, you just have to understand that the menu is divided horizontally and you have to use left/right to switch between file selector and directory selector.

Blah posted on Mar 16 2007 at 03:41 PM said:
If you really hate the file selector menu, you can use Gmenu2x's instead, that's what I do.

But if you want to continue with the included file selector, heres what you do: