New To Pandora

Paragod

Still Fresh
After reading the ideas behind Pandora and following it for a short while, I have went ahead and paid for one. Since then I've attempted to tackle the sheer wall of information that is Linux. I have no experience with Linux. Where would you, the community, recommend starting to learn to use this OS in regards to Pandora? My plan was to install linux as a virtual machine on OSX, and go on from there. But where to begin? Which release? Where can I find out more information?

My occupation tends to give me plenty of time to tackle learning opportunities, so please, point me in the right direction so I may begin.

Paragod,
Unless they really mess the interface up, you shouldn't have to know Linux to use the Pandora. At least initially, it probably won't hurt to know a little about the bash command line, which OSX may have, being a UNIX variant under the hood.

Other than that? A regular desktop Linux image probably won't do you too much as the Pandora team is using a custom build/interface to better deal with the Pandora. Their .pnd package management is unique to them, and *hopefully* straight forward to use. Also, the Pandora will have a much more "phone like" interface than a full on desktop version of Linux.

I'd wait until you get the device, then read the how-tos for everything from getting your .pnd files to work, to networking, to bluetooth and 3d. Mainly I'd wait because the instructions probably won't be the same as for a "normal" Linux desktop.

edit: and as others have stated, hopefully you won't have to do *anything*, just click on your apps, though I expect a few rough edges for the early adopters that may require a command or two at the prompt.

Paragod said: