New To Arcade Games And Emulation

A

AutumnGhost

For Arcade games what is meant by vertical and horizontal games? Can someone give me examples of each? and in the mame support forum some members have said to play vetical games on the gp2x Just rotate 90 degrees and use the volume button as fire, Why do you need to do this to play "vertical games"

In emulation what does frameskip mean? and terms like auto frameskip, frameskip 1, frameskip 2 etc.

I feel a bit thick asking these questions, as I am new to arcade games and emulation, thanks for any replies,
there may be other newbies who do not know this, I hope the replies are helpful to them as well.

u can rotate the screen in mame 2x, 'verticle' games, i believe this is for two player games like pong and therefore allows two player by sharing the unit end to end with another person but still making sense in the way its displayed to the players???

frame skip is abit like frames per second, although a certain number of frames can be skipped ie not all need to be drawn thus saving on performance, and sometimes has the effect of making the game look as if it is doing more fps than it is, too much frame skip can make the game look juddery... probably wrong on this look up a good wiki to get a better definitiion -- its a performance thingy =D

AutumnGhost posted on Aug 28 2006 at 03:31 PM said:
For Arcade games what is meant by vertical and horizontal games? Can someone give me examples of each? and in the mame support forum some members have said to play vetical games on the gp2x Just rotate 90 degrees and use the volume button as fire, Why do you need to do this to play "vertical games"

In emulation what does frameskip mean? and terms like auto frameskip, frameskip 1, frameskip 2 etc.

I feel a bit thick asking these questions, as I am new to arcade games and emulation, thanks for any replies,
there may be other newbies who do not know this, I hope the replies are helpful to them as well.