Need help PCSX_rearmed on Beagleboard Black

Filippo Signori

Still Fresh
Hello to everybody in this forum.

My name is Filippo and I'm from Italy.

I'm totally new to the world of Linux....so I'm a total NOOB...:)
I have a Beagleboard black so I take the opportunity to use it for understand and know more about the world of Linux.

For start job I try to compile and run Pcsx-Rearmed on my beagleboard.

I manage to compile it following the notaz instructions and the emulator runs very well.

But I have some clues:

Is it possible to run it full screen or not..??

Is it possible to use open gl or open gles acceleration ..??

For what I understand , beagleboard hw acceleration it's very complicated to use.....

Sorry if I made some silly question...but my knowledge is very low....so I need a little help to go on.

I wish to everybody a nice day....and thanks to everybody that spend a little of his free time to read my post.

Best regards

Filippo

PCSX_rearmed is designed to use software rendering for almost everything. On the Pandora it uses hardware acceleration for scaling I think, and relatively recently gained the ability to farm sound processing off to a DSP core, but I don't know if anyone's done the work to get it to use any of the beaglebone black's special hardware similarly.

To do it to use OpenGL for composition would probably be even more work for not a lot of gain. The playstation didn't support OpenGL, so the aim is to emulate a non-standard graphics pipeline, which has a number of special tricks and features which don't align very well with OpenGL's features I guess. So you'd need to do a lot of work primarily to cripple OpenGL in just the right way, so it probably wouldn't end up being any faster, and may even end up slower.

Hello levi,

thanks a lot for the prompt answer.

Thanks also for the clear explanation.

Any help to get Pcsx-rearmed run full screen ..??

I'm using Debian 8.2 jessie image for Beagleboard Black.

Thanks a lot again.

Filippo