Multiple Processes @ Startup

bernwa

Still Fresh
hello there ppl.

this may seem like a n00bie thing to ask you guys, but i have scoured this forum and multiple readme's to find an answer, but i'm afraid i have come up with nothing.....

i want to launch gmenu2x and energysaver at the same time on startup. ive tried editing the autorun.gpu, but it doesn't work (or i am doing it wrong!). could someone please give me the correct script and/or method of doing this? i'm getting rather frustrated as i can't work out how to launch background applications automatically. i have to manually execute them when i want to use them, which is ridiculous.

please help :(

bernmonkee :p

To run applications in the background, you need to put an '&' at the end of the line. You don't need to add one for the last one in your list, because it can run in the foreground...

I'm no expert myself but I remember seeing this being posted here

A_SN said:
CODE
#!/bin/sh
cd /mnt/sd/gmenu2x
exec ../App/colourd_070717/colourd.gpe&
exec ./gmenu2x

Just replace "/App/colourd_070717/colourd.gpe" with the path to the energysaver's .gpe

Notepad++ is a very easy to use program for making/editing scripts like this.
Remember to save it in Unix format (Format>Convert to UNIX format) and of course as autorun.gpu :p

Last edited by a moderator:
thanks guys, but it still doesn't want to work, i just end up with a black screen :(

my autorun.gpu is as follows;

#!/bin/sh
cd /mnt/sd/gmenu2x
exec ../Apps/EnergySaver/EnergySaver/EnergySaver.gpu&
exec ./gmenu2x

please forgive my ignorance, but even with my limited programming knowledge that script is doomed to fail isn't it? :(

Is EnergySaver/EnergySaver/EnergySaver.gpu& the correct path?

Also, make sure your file has Unix line breaks, that's easy to setup in Notepad++ or Programmer's Notepad.

i tried it with gp2xsleep the path was correct - i used os x textedit to edit the file