Most Inspiring Game?

Unfathomable Depths posted on Dec 22 2006 at 09:44 PM said:
I meant it as a compliment. I know what its like trying to put graphics together - as if it matters to actual gameplay.

Top marks Goity. Its my favorite game on the GP2X.

on a side note what do we call the unit? The GP, the GP2X, the 2X, the battery eating monster?

ruckage posted on Dec 22 2006 at 08:09 PM said:
Unfathomable Depths posted on Dec 22 2006 at 05:16 PM said:
Most inspiring thing Ive seen on the GP2X is GoitGeePee by Goity. Rubbish programmer graphics aside ;) the mode 7 simulation is excellent.

Id love to know how that was done.

Mode 7 functionality is built in to Fenix. Got to be careful how you use it as it can be quite slow if you're not careful.

Is Fenix any good? Im fairly new to C (pong was my first C game).

I like how easy the development cycle is with C though. I can code it for windows and run it on The Unit once Im happy with any progress.
Fenix is interpreted, so you can run it on PC and GP2x without a recompile. However, the speed is still pretty good considering this.

Last edited by a moderator:
I found tilematch quite inspiring - it was the first complete and polished homebrew game I found for the gp2x and showed me that it was possible for one person to do a complete game with menus and sfx! Thanks to the person who did it! (miq01 (or something))

Just to add to it, my all time favourite is Lylat Wars (Star Fox 64) but that doesn't play under GP2X. :p

journeys end on the zx spectrum,,,first rpg \ adventure game i played,,similair to f fantasy games -but was made 1985 ....any true final fantasy fan out there should play this....

GunPei2X posted on Dec 22 2006 at 10:06 PM said:
kevcal posted on Dec 22 2006 at 05:04 PM said:
Bit like writing defender 2 - you can't improve on the original (even Jeff Minter couldn't).
Ah, but Archer Maclean did :)

Mmmm... possibly. Dunno - I guess I don't like remakes of games that had such an effect on me back then.