Mod Problems On 2xquake, Mods Don't Work 100%

HydraLancer

Still Fresh
Website
Visit site
Hello all,

I am currently trying my shot at being a developer for the GP2x in my own way and am currently working on a large scale TC for quake that I was hoping to port to the GP2X, and wanted to contact anyone regarding an issue that I have encountered while developing for the Gp2x version of Quake 1. Although I am new to the gp2x scene, I am quite knowledgeable in Quake, and I apologize if I may say things that anyone either doesn’t understand or that seem pretty obvious considering I don’t know everyone’s level of expertise with the actual game.

As for the issue, it would seem that whenever you are loading a mod (and I have tried several different ones) it would seem that the changed code in these mods in the progs.dat, file (which is normally found within the pak file of pak0.pak) is being overwritten by the progs.dat of the original game every time you ether die in the game or change a map. So for example if I were to load a mod that uses a grappling hook instead of the axe, I would first make the gpe file as explained and it would load the map as normal and perfectly, when I’m in the game the mod is working perfectly with my new hook, but when I either die, clear the level, or start a new game, all of the sudden I have the axe again and the normal code is being used instead of the new code from the progs.dat file in the mod’s folder. This seems to only be an issue with the progs.dat file somewhere in the code I assume because if I load a mod with new fancy GUI graphics and sounds they still work even when I die in the game, but the programming changes revert back to normal. I have tried all of these mods on my pc and all seem to work fine so it doesn’t seem to be an issue with the actual code in the progs.dat.