Mame Gp2x 1.5

craigix

Mega GP Mania
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,010
Location
England
Website
twitter.com
Franxis, I think the TV out in the current firmware is the final version - it seems to work great and i have 1.3 and 1.4 and there is no change in them. Since the cable is released I doubt they will change the TV out now.

-Craig


Franxis posted on Feb 5 2006 at 11:41 PM said:
craigix posted on Feb 5 2006 at 08:20 PM said:
This version almost works in TV out mode, its just squashed to the left, like Vice used to be, the solution is on the wiki.

http://wiki.gp2x.org/wiki/TV-out_support
Yes i know, but i'm waiting until the new firmware with tv-out support is released. I don't want to update the firmware with one of those betas, i don't want to hurry :D

When the new firmware is released and get the cabling to connect the gp2x tv-out connector to my TV i will try to solve the TV-Out issues.

Thanks.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Prothall

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2005
Messages
245
This is great.

Now I just need to find something a little more dated than the D&D arcade games I'd be interested in playing (outside PacMan).

I am seriously considering something like a $50US bounty on the D&D arcade game, but I think such an accomplishment is a long way off, if it's possible - I think the MAME version that supported it was... MAWS says .037, at least for the first.

Anyway, thanks for all the work!
 

djchk

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
115
Great work Franxis! it's great to see Punisher and Cadillacs and Dinosaurs working so well with no OC with FS0 :D
 

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,060
Website
www.codejedi.com
Gauntlet runs _really_ nice :)

Anyone have luck with Rolling Thunder and Quartet (quartet2)? I had no luck with a MAME095 dump, so I went and dumped these two from my real boards and named things appropriately; works on my own System 16 emu (only does Quartet :), but no luck in MAMe 1.5 here. Perhaps Quartet2 (system 16) was only partly implemented at this time? Hmm.. /me should look at the MAME source now :)

Any luck with Rolling Thunder? For me it hangs after a coin is inserted.

I'll check a few more..

Really nice stuff Franxis :)

jeff

Mmmm, Knights of the Round and Megaman :)

Narc! - borked display and slow, but not expected to work.

Hmm, Franxis -- any chance it'd be easy to backport a more recent System 16 module? Looking at my old backup of Thierry's code from back 1998 or so, its got lots of ASM so would take a bit of work to port :)
 

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
44
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
Rolling Thunder: put video and audio at 100% to run the game. But there is no sound effects only music... <_<

Quartet2 does not run ok. :(

About the system16 core, of course it is possible, there is a lot of different things to be improved easily... I have been correcting most interesting things for me :lol:
 

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,060
Website
www.codejedi.com
*g* Same as always eh? :)

Well, see if you can bring the system16 or even just quartet2 into the mix. I'm maxxed out like nuts (as always, but more so :) so am afraid to download your current source and look into it :)

$$$ isn't a great motivator for me since I just can't help myself from coding anyway, but I'll zing you a few bucks for sure if I can get some sexy Quartet action ;)

jeff
 

heisty

Still Fresh
Joined
Dec 30, 2005
Messages
71
it seems that a certain website claiming GP2X .34 games with nova in its name has games that do not work!!!

i just tried a few neo geo games and i get LOAD ERRORS!!!

FYI.
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
I would donate if the sound was ever made to work in many classic games . Some of us actually like those too.
 

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
44
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
DaveC posted on Feb 8 2006 at 07:05 PM said:
I would donate if the sound was ever made to work in many classic games . Some of us actually like those too.
:blink: :eek: no no no
 
Last edited by a moderator:

skeezix

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 11, 2003
Messages
8,060
Website
www.codejedi.com
I don't quite get it .. DaveC -- don't most of them have sound now?

ie: The vector games and some like Space Invaders miss a lot, due to sample hardware and such; maybe they'd work if sample files were included?

I know with Retrocade we required people to have a sample PAK file handy..

jeff
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
skeezix posted on Feb 10 2006 at 01:01 AM said:
I don't quite get it .. DaveC -- don't most of them have sound now?

ie: The vector games and some like Space Invaders miss a lot, due to sample hardware and such; maybe they'd work if sample files were included?

I know with Retrocade we required people to have a sample PAK file handy..

jeff

For many games the sound is still missing. Phoenix, Zaxxon, Venture, PepperII, Berzerk to name a few. For others the sound is poor or incomplete missing some of the sound like all of the Donkey Kong games, Galaxian etc.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

lubidog

Very Active Member
Joined
Feb 22, 2005
Messages
2,765
Age
34
Er...can I ask...

If,by completely legal means my 'Uncle' was to secure for me a complete rom set of .34 roms, labelled for use with gp2x, would they really be almost a gig in size? Are there that many???

If so, I am excited. Very very excited....
 

remowilliams

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
273
skeezix posted on Feb 9 2006 at 08:01 PM said:
I don't quite get it .. DaveC -- don't most of them have sound now?

ie: The vector games and some like Space Invaders miss a lot, due to sample hardware and such; maybe they'd work if sample files were included?
No, there's no sample support. Which is a shame :(

Berzerk just isn't any fun when it's not talking to you ;)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
remowilliams posted on Feb 10 2006 at 05:43 PM said:
skeezix posted on Feb 9 2006 at 08:01 PM said:
I don't quite get it .. DaveC -- don't most of them have sound now?

ie: The vector games and some like Space Invaders miss a lot, due to sample hardware and such; maybe they'd work if sample files were included?
No, there's no sample support. Which is a shame :(

Berzerk just isn't any fun when it's not talking to you ;)
I guess samples were too slow. If a driver for those games was ported from a newer MAME version like .36 the sound would be emulated and be OK. If NeoGeo games work with sound I can't see why it would be impossible for Phoenix etc. to have sound.

To me no games are any fun if there is nothing comming out of the speakers :( Maybe someday someone that likes classics AND can code will fix it. I mean how can you leave games like Zaxxon, Berzerk, Phoenix, and the Donkey Kong games incomplete?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

remowilliams

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
273
skeezix posted on Feb 10 2006 at 02:30 PM said:
Probbaly just the version of MAME; 0.36 is pretty early on still .. 99 or so?

jeff
I was figuring it was probably a source issue. Sample support kept getting added for new drivers for quite some time.

The earliest source I have here locally (0.36) has some form of sample support, but who knows what for.

I know sample support was screwy and in flux for a while if IIRC.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Greenchili

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
120
I'm pretty sure sample support for games like donkey kong had been around from the get go. But this one does not seem to pay attention to the samples directory.

Also the bally midway games do not display properly. (ex tron, tron deadly discs, tapper, two tigers, etc).

Does anyone know the difference between the versions? I think I know what mame_gp2x and mamegpx_drz80 are.
 

djchk

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
115
As some CPS1 games are working, will Street Fighter Zero (sfzch) be supported?
 

djchk

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2004
Messages
115
skeezix posted on Feb 12 2006 at 03:55 PM said:
SF0 is CPS2.

jeff
But there is a CPS1 version.

Code:
System: CPS1
RomName: sfzch
Game: Street Fighter Zero (Japan CPS Changer 951020)

[Program]
sfzch23,0,80000,1140743f,1
sfza22,80000,80000,8d9b2480,1
sfzch21,100000,80000,5435225d,1
sfza20,180000,80000,806e8f38,1

[Graphics]
sfz01,0,80000,0dd53e62,0
sfz02,2,80000,94c31e3f,0
sfz03,4,80000,9584ac85,0
sfz04,6,80000,b983624c,0
sfz05,200000,80000,2b47b645,0
sfz06,200002,80000,74fd9fb1,0
sfz07,200004,80000,bb2c734d,0
sfz08,200006,80000,454f7868,0
sfz10,400000,80000,2a7d675e,0
sfz11,400002,80000,e35546c8,0
sfz12,400004,80000,f122693a,0
sfz13,400006,80000,7cf942c8,0
sfz14,600000,80000,09038c81,0
sfz15,600002,80000,1aa17391,0
sfz16,600004,80000,19a5abd6,0
sfz17,600006,80000,248b3b73,0

[Z80]
sfz09,0,10000,c772628b,0

[Samples]
sfz18,0,20000,61022b2d,0
sfz19,20000,20000,3b5886d5,0

[System]
LayerControl: 66,2,4,8
BGHiControl: 68,6A,6C,6E
Stars: 30,30
Banks: 0,0,0
BoardID: 0,0
Multiply: 40,42,44,46
ButLayout: B
Fix: 0
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Top