Learning To Program

nostromo

Still Fresh
I hope I will not be flamed for asking this, but anyway, I will ask anyway :)

I would like to learn to program so I can create something to run on the upcoming WIZ console (obviously starting with something really simple!)....

Keeping in mind that I have little or no experience in programming (I do know HTML very well, but thats not even a proper language).....

1. Which programming language should I be looking at?

2. What tools/SDKs will I be needing?

3. What documentations will I need?

4. What book/online docs should I buy/read, which will teach me in a step-by-step, easy manner, starting at a complete beginner's level the programming language for #1 ?

Thanks in advance for any help - any suggestions, hints etc. will be appreciated.

GLBasic and Fenix are two excellent BASIC style languages that will create code for GP2X and Wiz and eventually Pandora.

Both have very helpful dedicated forums as well as members on here who can give advice or assistance.

BASIC style languages are ideal for the beginner as the syntax (coding language) is generally very easy to follow and they usually share many features, so you can move from one to another without much difficulty.

Both are very fast and games can be created quickly and easily. There are lots of examples of games created with both languages here on the site.

GLBasic is commercial, so you'll have to download a fully featured demo to play with it, but Fenix is free.

GLBasic Site - http://www.glbasic.com/main.php?site=news

Fenix site - http://fenix.divsite.net/index.php?opcion=1&lang=en

Thanks a lot for this information - do both of these programs have compilers which compile GP2X/WIZ executables?

Thanks again.

Actually Fenix is more akin to C style languages, it's more similar to C, Javascript and PHP etc than it is to Basic.

If you're going to use a simple language then I would go for Fenix.