Learning To Program.

-Matt-94

Still Fresh
Hi,

This is my first post on this forum, although I have been visiting it for awhile now. (Guess I was to lazy to register!) Anyways, I have been following the Pandora everyday, and before that, I would look up stuff about the GP2X like crazy. I have a real interest in programming, namely for the Pandora. Unfortunately, I am a complete noob at it, but I am beginning to understand the basic concepts. I was before trying to learn C++, but decided to learn Python first. I heard it was a great beginner language, and that it should be easier to learn other languages later. Is that true, and if not, what language would you all recommend? Also, I have some stuff to read, but is there something you personally learned off from, and if so, please let me know. I realize that "doing" programming helps you learn more than reading tutorials, but I first have to learn the functions and syntax. I own a PSP and thought I could try to make something simple for that while I wait for money for the Pandora. Is Pygame a necessity? Sorry for the wall of text, but I needed to ask the devs out there a bunch of questions I have. :D Thanks for reading!

No. Pygame is not necessary you just need to understand programming as a whole with python then move on to w/e. You have to have a lot of god dam patience though. It is pretty boring and repetitive at first, so try to screw with things with a friend.

PoisonedV said:
M&D Cheese said:
on what language, C? C++? or something like C#?
to get started in programming, reccomend learning python. easy, widely used in scripting in 3rd party applications, extendability, and it will be on pandora for sure.

http://www.python.org/

to learn, livewires at http://www.livewires.org.uk/python/home was intended for people 12-15 but it works for anyone new to programming.

if thats not your style, you can start on this:
http://hkn.eecs.berkeley.edu/~dyoo/python/...ntro/index.html