1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Kernel 3.9 has a SSD cache feature! Can Pandora use this? :D

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by ExquisiteCorpse, Mar 8, 2013.

  1. ExquisiteCorpse

    ExquisiteCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    :D

    Cos I noticed latest kernel is 3.2 :(  
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2013
  2. ShleeDragon

    ShleeDragon Pro-Catflip

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,749
    Technically. the idea is based on IO caching... you have a big slow drive and a small fast drive.

    We're running off NAND for the root and memory for the rest. plus we've not swapping GB of IO.. so we wouldn't get an kind of speedup :)

    It's a nice idea tho... we keep almost everything in memory which is faster than caching in most cases.
     
  3. ExquisiteCorpse

    ExquisiteCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Oh why thank you young sir for the most prompt reply. 

    It's a shame it wouldn't change any functionality. Out of interest why is Pandy still on 3.2? 
     
  4. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    I guess because it is a ton of work to get all parameters right and customize new kernels for our hardware...


    Edit: If it is not broken, why change it?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2013
  5. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,105
    The 3.2.x will be maintained until 2016 i think.
     
  6. ExquisiteCorpse

    ExquisiteCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Hmmm interesting. Thanks :)  
     
  7. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    17,466
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
    It's not a ton of work, but it is still quite a bit of work and it doesn't offer anything new we don't have yet.
     
  8. ExquisiteCorpse

    ExquisiteCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Bristol, England
    Ed I have a question for you. I'm about to buy a pandora but based in the UK. However I'm going to Amsterdam for a few weeks.

    If I got my mate to buy it in Amsterdam would I not have to pay the 20 percent UK Vat? 

    Cheers
     
  9. Letalis Sonus

    Letalis Sonus Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Your friend would have to pay the dutch VAT then. Should be just a very minor saving, IIRC.
     
  10. mcobit

    mcobit Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,755
    However this is related to the Kernel question...
     
  11. EvilDragon

    EvilDragon Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    17,466
    Location:
    Ingolstadt
     
    No and no :)

    You pay the VAT for the country you buy it FROM within the EU, so it is always 19% (German VAT).
     
  12. ExquisiteCorpse

    ExquisiteCorpse Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    476
    Location:
    Bristol, England

Share This Page