1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Dismiss Notice

Is there a system monitor like gkrellm or htop ?

Discussion in 'Support Area' started by Linux-SWAT, Feb 19, 2011.

  1. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,858
    Which ones do you use ?


    Installed :


    opkg install gnome-system-monitor


    Nice, but a bit heavy, it uses 50% CPU :/
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 19, 2011
    Tags:
  2. WizardStan

    WizardStan Mega GP Mania

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    16,303
    What's wrong with regular old "top"?
     
  3. DavidBowman

    DavidBowman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    I've always used "top" from a terminal, which is how I found out not to use Chromium or Arora as they eat up every last scrap of RAM.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 22, 2011
  4. Linux-SWAT

    Linux-SWAT Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,858
  5. kc187

    kc187 Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    75
    Not trying to hijack the thread, but what browser do you use?
     
  6. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
  7. SirDregan

    SirDregan Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Bayreuth, Germany
    That looks nice! Quick question: Can you log the system load?


    Would be nice to fire that up and then play some N64 / SNES or start other fullscreen applications and look at the logs afterwards to see how much CPU / RAM they use up.
     
  8. gruso

    gruso thunderbox

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    7,461
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Sounds like an interesting idea. I'm not a Conky expert, but I understand it's extensively configurable with scripts. Might have to dig around the web and see if anyone has already done the ground work.
     
  9. DavidBowman

    DavidBowman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    697
    Midori if I can. And I've switched to browsing the web under the MiniMenu GUI instead of XCFE, which I think has saved maybe 20MB of RAM. I think. I've not tested extensively.


    @Gruso - Thanks for the info. I'll install that post haste!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 24, 2011
  10. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,605
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    I love this :) , I wonder if could add CPU clock to it, have to look into conky configuration :D


    It fun to see the battery going up to about 1A when I have my phone in the usb(to charge it) and thether with it via bluetooth :D (I dont have the usb thether set up :p ) the pandora really looked like a freak machine with a phone attached to it and terminal open. Haha got some strange looks in the train
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 2, 2016
  11. JerryBlade

    JerryBlade Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Unfortunately, I don't think all of the variables here: Conky Variables are supported in the Pandora version. For example, <freq>, which is the variable for current clock speed, is not functioning. It can probably work by leveraging an external shell script the same way battery is used. Anyone get this and some others to work correctly?
     
  12. Bosbeetle

    Bosbeetle Terminally lost

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,605
    Location:
    The Netherlands

    hmm too bad since that would be nice info
     

Share This Page

Loading...