Is it possible to run Android emulator on Pyra?

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by Ted, Mar 10, 2017.

  1. Ted

    Ted Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    Beijing, China
    Thanks for your reply.
    Is there anything as simple as an emulator (i.e. MAME for arcade) to run Android apps on Linux?
     
  2. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    Am i right that android apps can be written in java for the dalvik vm, or also use C/C++ 'native' code? Called NDK. So would these not work with myriad alien dalvik?
     
  3. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,014
  4. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,910
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    That's not an android emulator, that's a fork of google's android emulator as provided by google to run it's aosp (android open source project) OS on computers I assume. It doesn't state the target os, but it seems to be made using qemu, and I'd expect that to run fine on the Pyra (although a magnitude slower than anything than anything that runs chunks of things natively, in my experience). Also, I don't know off hand what's missing from aosp versus stock android; I'd expect various binary blobs to be missing which might well mean various animations run slower, but I don't know what else it broken. Someone who runs the replicant or other offshoots of aosp on their phones might be more familiar with what's not there.
     
  5. Silent-Hunter

    Silent-Hunter Hardcore Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3,014
    Does Pyra's CPU support virtualization extensions? And I mostly want it for my Square Cash app and Telegram's Secret Chat feature. Not games.
     
    Grench likes this.
  6. levi

    levi Still fresh, damnit!

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    10,910
    Location:
    Somewhere off the coast of the EU
    I've run QEmu on old x64 hardware without any virtualisation extension to poke at stick at. It still runs, and in my experience not significantly slower than it does on cpus with all the latest bells and whistles. I was disappointed on how well it runs on newer hardware to be honest, although I don't know how much that's down to me trying to run that on a windows computer.
     
  7. Grench

    Grench Forum Addict!

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    6,031
    Agreed. Something like this running on the Pyra would have applications outside of playing games. I have a few work applications (BlackBerry Work Android Apps that I have to use) that I would like to get running under a sandboxed instance of Android on the Pyra. Something like this might just be the ticket.

    Ideally, something like this should also have a virtual CPU throttle. I would like to, for example, contain the Android sandbox instance to something like:
    -No more than 0.001% of 1 CPU core when not in foreground.
    The idea is to keep a lid on Android without actually shutting it down - theoretically alerts and message notifications should still filter through. Flip it back foreground though and speed gets 'back to normal'.

    Similarly, it would be good to have a user adjustable RAM cap for the Android instance.

    Ideally the Android instance would see a specified set of Debian folders as if they were: Device storage, SD card storage, USB storage.

    OK, so - it's a wish list...
     
  8. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany
    Alien Dalvik is pretty nice. Strange how ... obscure... it is...
     
  9. Klumpen

    Klumpen Run away! Run away!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    6,591
    Location:
    Uncanny Valley
  10. klapse

    klapse Central Scrutinizer

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,932
    Location:
    Germany

Share This Page

Loading...