How Will The Dsp Interface With The Arm Portion?

jpardey

Still Fresh
I'm not very experienced with assembly (one ARM course), but I'm wondering what the DSP will be running at any moment. In my attempt to figure out what the OMAP3 was all about, I read something about mailbox interrupts. Also, the two architectures are obviously very different. Will there be a process/thread scheduler for each process? What will the mailbox be able to do, aside from possibly trigger DMA or something? Will there be libraries for both processors so the developer can choose which processor to run certain routines on?

I'm not sure what words to use in this, architecture, processor, core, etc, but I tried to be clear. I'm quite confused as to how this thing will be used efficiently. Any idea when the SDK will be out, so I can confuse myself on that? And are there any similar systems with Linux ports that developers here can learn from (closest I can think of is the Cell)?

jpardey said:
I'm not very experienced with assembly (one ARM course), but I'm wondering what the DSP will be running at any moment. In my attempt to figure out what the OMAP3 was all about, I read something about mailbox interrupts. Also, the two architectures are obviously very different. Will there be a process/thread scheduler for each process? What will the mailbox be able to do, aside from possibly trigger DMA or something? Will there be libraries for both processors so the developer can choose which processor to run certain routines on?

I'm not sure what words to use in this, architecture, processor, core, etc, but I tried to be clear. I'm quite confused as to how this thing will be used efficiently. Any idea when the SDK will be out, so I can confuse myself on that? And are there any similar systems with Linux ports that developers here can learn from (closest I can think of is the Cell)?
Check out DSP gateway (dspgateway.sf.net).
Also check out : http://maemo.org/community/wiki/dspprogramming/