Pandora How To Build A Game Specific To Pandora Without A Pandora?

Kulangot_AG

Still Fresh
Hello,

I'm currently making a strategy role playing game (Japanese-style SRPG similar to FF Tactics) in pygame, but I don't have a Pandora (yet). I'm not really a good programmer so even if I had one, I doubt I would be able to cross-compile anything.

When I complete the game and have tested the beta (linux build) sometime in September-October (yep I'm entering it into IGF as well), could I swing by here and ask for people willing to port it more specifically for the handheld? It's going to be a freeware game but it's an original IP and you can say the developer (myself) already wants Pandora as a primary platform.

To start with, I will have the game resolution set to 800 x 480 and I am making the user interface buttons large as befits a handheld platform. However it is all mouse-based point-and-click so I'm not sure how that would interface to the Pandora control pad. Maybe should I get the keyboard shortcuts working that will suffice?

Is there anything else I will need to keep in mind while making the game so that the port will go as smoothly as possible? Thanks.

Hi. :p

I can't help you with a lot here, as I'm not a coder or anything like that. However, regarding what you mention about point-and-click, the Pandora's analogue nubs can act as a mouse substitute (by default, the left nub is used for movement, and the right one is used for left-clicking by moving it to the left, right-clicking by moving it to the right, and double-clicking by moving it upwards), and the touch-screen can also be used in this way, if that's of any help to you. :)