How Does Prboom Run?


L

lol2232

Guest
I was wondering how well does PrBoom run such as graphics, speed, control and sound?

<offtopic>
P.S. I have a DS for sell and Mario Kart for it :)
 

Mr Doctor

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
247
Location
Scotland
Website
www.daishi.biz
Looks like PC one, Slightly slower that full speed (full with overclocking). Sounds fine (not used earphones yet though). Control is similar to GBA, but fully configurable.... but shit with the 2Xs standard joystick top.

Impressive for a 2nd release, not a whole lot to fix on it. Should be perfect in a few weeks :p
 

devestation

Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2005
Messages
137
Location
Round Rock, TX
Website
Visit site
Yeah, it could use some more optimizing. To put it into perspective, the doom 2 port for gba on a ~16mhz processor is full speed and this, @ 200mhz, has a slowdown every once in a while. Very impressive overall, though.
 

icurafu

The Hallucinogenic Elf
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
2,078
Location
Sydney, Australia
Website
gamesreborn.blogspot.com
It fairly much takes all the power of the gp2x to be fluid. Some people notice an increase in performance by overclocking, but I dont think it is needed.

However, if you underclock you GP2X, you'll noctice it lagging quickly, where 120mhz is like a slideshow.

It all sounds and plays well. The controls were a bit off on the first beta, but thye are much better now and quite usable.

Not much can be done to it now. Maybe a performance boost, so that it doesn't take up all of the 200mhz to run it.
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
It fairly much takes all the power of the gp2x to be fluid. Some people notice an increase in performance by overclocking, but I dont think it is needed.

However, if you underclock you GP2X, you'll noctice it lagging quickly, where 120mhz is like a slideshow.

It all sounds and plays well. The controls were a bit off on the first beta, but thye are much better now and quite usable.

Not much can be done to it now. Maybe a performance boost, so that it doesn't take up all of the 200mhz to run it.

Really it is that slow? Doom ran great on my GP32 at *133 MHz*. It seems like a trend that stuff that ran great on the GP32 is slower on the GP2X. I wonder if linux is causing that?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

timbobsteve

Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2005
Messages
301
I think you will find that the GP32 may have been alot different (well not alot... but a fair but) different to program for. Thus alot of ports from GP32 may require a little tweaking until they get up to the same standard.
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
33
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
The GP32 version was pretty optimized, don't forget its gone through 10+ versions in over a year to get to the state is at now.
You can hardly expect the gp2x to do everything the gp32 did in just a few month's.

ps: timbobsteve your sig is wrong and annoying.
 

Mr Doctor

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2005
Messages
247
Location
Scotland
Website
www.daishi.biz
Yeah, it could use some more optimizing. To put it into perspective, the doom 2 port for gba on a ~16mhz processor is full speed and this, @ 200mhz, has a slowdown every once in a while. Very impressive overall, though.
Yes, but GBA Doom2 was cut down. Textures were about half or less in size and was lower than low detail on PC also with less draw distance (and 16mh isnt an accurate spec for the GBA since most of its work is done elsewhere taking a lot of work of the cpu)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

nickspoon

vultum stultum habes
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
4,234
Age
27
Location
Essex, UK
Website
Visit site
We're working on optimising it, but it's almost fullspeed with sound and music if you want already. We might port it over to the minilib at some point.
 

Radek

Certified Guru
Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
871
It fairly much takes all the power of the gp2x to be fluid. Some people notice an increase in performance by overclocking, but I dont think it is needed.

However, if you underclock you GP2X, you'll noctice it lagging quickly, where 120mhz is like a slideshow.

It all sounds and plays well. The controls were a bit off on the first beta, but thye are much better now and quite usable.

Not much can be done to it now. Maybe a performance boost, so that it doesn't take up all of the 200mhz to run it.

Really it is that slow? Doom ran great on my GP32 at *133 MHz*. It seems like a trend that stuff that ran great on the GP32 is slower on the GP2X. I wonder if linux is causing that?
Doom should be fast even on machine with only 50MHz (on 486 it certainly was). This isn't Linux here to blame but poor implementation of SDL libs probably? And also that the SDL isn't that suited for direct pixel manipulation. Isn't gp32's Doom is using directly a video hardware?

Linux (as kernel) itself should not be degrading perfomance significantly. Perhaps we have another surprise from GPH in a form of another deficiency?

edit: Isn't the Duke3D using SDL too? This game has more demanding engine yet it's quick on the stock 200MHz. Perhaps it just an early port of prboom...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

mongolito404

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
115
Location
Belgium
Website
Visit site
PrBoom (AFAIK the only Doom engine for GP2X) is originaly a i386 Doom engine. The GP2X port I did is a mostly a compilation of PrBoom with a few SDL intialisation and controls tweaks. It's totally non-optimized for ARM processor or the GP2X. I don't know anything about ARM assembler or software optimization and I'm currently unable to improve it's performance. I'm willing to learn, so if you have any good tutorial about ARM assembler, software optimization and their use in C programs share it. But don't expect too much from me.
 

Radek

Certified Guru
Joined
Oct 13, 2005
Messages
871
PrBoom (AFAIK the only Doom engine for GP2X) is originaly a i386 Doom engine. The GP2X port I did is a mostly a compilation of PrBoom with a few SDL intialisation and controls tweaks. It's totally non-optimized for ARM processor or the GP2X. I don't know anything about ARM assembler or software optimization and I'm currently unable to improve it's performance. I'm willing to learn, so if you have any good tutorial about ARM assembler, software optimization and their use in C programs share it. But don't expect too much from me.
Thank for your effort. Didn't want to criticize really. But it's puzzling why some software is running slower than in the gp32.

For Arm info here is very good website. Not perhaps most comprehensive but for a start should be enough. Arm is quite nice cpu to program for.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Ze_ro

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2005
Messages
234
Location
Winnipeg, MB
Website
Visit site
As has already been said, the game runs essentially perfectly except for the occaisional bits of slowdown. It's only the third beta version of it, so I'm sure this stuff will be ironed out in the future.

Some of the controls don't seem to be entirely hooked up though... I got stuck in some of the menus with no way to get out at one point.

--Zero
 

woogal

Certified Guru
Joined
May 15, 2003
Messages
1,823
Age
43
Location
Newark, UK
Website
gp32.sector808.org
edit: Isn't the Duke3D using SDL too? This game has more demanding engine yet it's quick on the stock 200MHz. Perhaps it just an early port of prboom...
I've not tried Doom yet, but I was just thinking exactly the same thing. Duke on both the gp32 and gp2x uses SDL and no special optimisations, and it's pretty much fullspeed on both at 133mhz without music (not tried clocking down the gp2x version since I added midi support). Maybe prboom added some graphical enhancements to the main doom engine that could do with being removed for the gp2x?
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Muncher666

Member
Joined
Dec 24, 2005
Messages
339
Looks like PC one, Slightly slower that full speed (full with overclocking). Sounds fine (not used earphones yet though). Control is similar to GBA, but fully configurable.... but shit with the 2Xs standard joystick top.

Impressive for a 2nd release, not a whole lot to fix on it. Should be perfect in a few weeks :p

Well, I tried plugging the tape adaptor for my car stereo into the earphone plug while playing Doom (I happen to think the music is ultra, ultra funky) and I got some nasty, nasty sounds coming out of it - so this is the only issue I've had with it. Everything else about it is crescent fresh.

Allan.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
L

lol2232

Guest
Okay thanks for all the info everybody I will hopefully get a GP2X soon :)
 
Top