Hexen And Metalslug

mrsnature

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
462
To anybody who has got either of these working, can you let us know how? I'm prob doing something wrong but all i get is a black screen...

I have metal slug roms and shareware hexen wad... not sure where to put them though!

cheers
 

craigix

Mega GP Mania
Joined
Feb 3, 2003
Messages
11,010
Location
England
Website
twitter.com
From the gpe (looks like its looking for an RGP, not metal slug):

Could not initialize SDL: %s.
NeoCD/SDL 0.3.1
Compiled on: Nov 17 2005 20:20:25
NEOGEO: Allocating memory...
PRG (2MB) ...
failed !
OK!
SPR (4MB) ...
ROM (512kb) ...
FIX (128kb) ...
PCM (1Mb) ...
memcard.bin
rb
neocd.bin
Fatal Error: Could not load NEOCD.BIN
startup.bin
Fatal Error: Could not load STARTUP.BIN
Fatal Error: Invalid BIOS file.
Initialise input.
Initialize CD-ROM.
././neocd.zip
Sound init.
Initialize everything.
TEST PROGRAM USA
SAMURAI SPIRITS RPG
patch.prg
Fatal Error: Couldnt open patch.prg.
- NEOGEO: System Shutdown.
wbError: Couldn't open memcard.bin for writing.
/usr/gp2x
/usr/gp2x/gp2xmenu
NEOGEO: Exception Trapped at %08x !
NEOGEO: Exit requested by software...
Error: Error while processing IPL.TXT.
Error: This function isn't implemented.rb
unzip 0.15 Copyright 1998 Gilles Vollant
rb
1.1.4
error!! PC=%x
m68k_get_reg Error!! %d.
m68k_set_reg Error!! %d, %x.
VIDEO: Could not allocate vidram (128k)
 

mrsnature

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
462
hmm i got a bit further by running the instal_lib.gpu utility that there is also a link to..

now i get the loading screen then returns to the main gp2x menu.

probably not finding the rom(?)

junker: oh maybe you're right i'll see what i can do...
 

mrsnature

Member
Joined
Jul 22, 2003
Messages
462
seems like a bios is already included, but i think i am not using the right rom files.
Hexen now works after i've installed the libs though!

all files are just in the root directory.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,446
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
I guess the BIOS files are only dummies - usually, they are not included with an emulator.

Also, there are two ways an NEOCD emulator possibly works:
1. Running an ISO or
2. Running a directory or zip with all the CD files copied there and the audiotracks MP3 encoded (the PSP emulator does this)

I would try this out - but I don't have a gp2x yet.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,446
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Last edited:
C

codeninja

Guest
They only got a few ones - and I get them from gbax.
However, the next shipment has already been dispatched yesterday from Korea.
I thought they've got thousands and that's why Craig and co. spent days checking them all. If shipment with major quantity is coming in, would he go through them again? :blink: I mean, should he? Now, my patience is running low and want my toy by Thanksgiving, but...I dunno any more. :(
 
Last edited by a moderator:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,446
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
They only got a few ones - and I get them from gbax.
However, the next shipment has already been dispatched yesterday from Korea.
I thought they've got thousands and that's why Craig and co. spent days checking them all. If shipment with major quantity is coming in, would he go through them again? :blink: I mean, should he? Now, my patience is running low and want my toy by Thanksgiving, but...I dunno any more. :(
Sorry, I didn't probably make myself clear.
He got enough for HIS preorders, not for mine.
The shipment which finally has enough units for me is on the way :)

If you preordered at gbax, it's currently being checked and shipped out.

The next batch had been sent out a few days later.
 
Last edited:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,446
Age
42
Location
Ingolstadt
Last edited:

Cbass182

Member
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
111
bin cue format or iso mp3? and where do they go? in the NeoCD2 folder or in the root? And do they need to be in their own folder?

ex. NeoCD2/metalslug/

and you put those inside a zip file called neogeo.zip? or put the neogeo.zip file in the root that has the bios files?

If someone could have a little more clear instructions on where everything goes, and what format they need to be in...that'd be great...thanks...
 
Top