Has Gph Announced Any Major Firmware Update Dates?

Discussion in 'General Talk' started by RoboJoe32, Nov 26, 2005.

  1. RoboJoe32

    RoboJoe32 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    815
    Wondering, did a quick search and didn't find a terrible lot reguarding it, just wanted to know so I could place my ordering schedule around that date.
     
    Tags:
  2. Prothall

    Prothall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    January the First. Official General Release.
     
  3. FFNoir

    FFNoir I

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    341
    ... yeah... GPH is really dragging their feet with it... I mean if they had a firmware update ready you'd think they'd put it out...
     
  4. DijiTao

    DijiTao Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    I doubt it will matter all that much once we get the source.
     
  5. Prothall

    Prothall Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    245
    I understand the January 1 date has been on the books for months, and I don't find it bothersome... better a whole hog revision than dribs, drabs and hotfixes, eh?

    Then again, the lack of updates is not currently impeding my enjoyment of my GP2X, though the postman might not be having as much fun.
     
  6. codeninja

    codeninja Guest

    SD card related update coming up early next week, and then others are coming up later as it takes some time for GPH to figure out the problem.
     
  7. grahf

    grahf MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    863
    Location:
    From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
    SD card update? awesome.. Im assuming its to allow inserting SD cards after powering on. And im hoping they are adding support for larger than 1gb cards. Ive got this 2gb card burning a hole in my drawer :)
     
  8. wiggythebrave

    wiggythebrave Still Fresh

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2005
    Messages:
    77
    Location:
    North Wales, UK

    It's strange, I've heard a few people say that they can't swop the SD card without switching off, but mine recognises my cards if I swop them without switching off. I don't know if it makes any difference but my cards are 512mb and 1Gb Viking cards.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  9. evening2005

    evening2005 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    137
    I've done that, but one time when I added couple of files and then re-inserted the card, the GP2X didn't see the new files. I don't think this is a bug, actually. It's perfectly reasonable behaviour in my opinion.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  10. declaration

    declaration "

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    UK
    yeah, I'm using a 1gb viking card and am able to insert it after booting up and it sees everything.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 19, 2015
  11. Nuron_V

    Nuron_V Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Mine lets me hot swap the cards more often then not letting me,
     
  12. grahf

    grahf MK1 first edition #299, still going strong.

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Messages:
    863
    Location:
    From US, currently in Tokyo, Japan
    Well i envy you guys, mine doest work with any cards. Because i havnt received it yet :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...