Hacked Again...

Guyfawkes

Certified Idiot :)
Joined
Jan 11, 2004
Messages
796
Age
43
Location
London, UK
Website
www.emuholic.com
can confirm the site has been hacked with the same hack as before, IFRAME in the User header linking to the exploit. this really should have been fixed last time as i bet more people will be infected if using IE.
 
R

Reesy

Guest
Yay! I don't use IE any more so I'm safe, Hurrah for Firefox!
 

Alex.

Retired
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
4,617
Adblocked again. It might not be as easy to prevent as you think, this would be the job of the web hosting company rather than the GP32X-Team's.

- Alex
 

Vimacs

Don't be evil!
Joined
Oct 23, 2003
Messages
5,762
Age
32
Location
Germany
Website
Visit site
well, its a big site so its attractive to spyware asses,
hando realy needs to update the forum, but that takes pretty much work.
 

Guyfawkes

Certified Idiot :)
Joined
Jan 11, 2004
Messages
796
Age
43
Location
London, UK
Website
www.emuholic.com
Its not really to do with the web hosting people to sort this out. The hack is an exploit in the forum software which can simply be prevented by updating software. The forums are using a very old version which itself was a public beta test version. I believe hando has the latest software but he hasnt updated it yet.
 

DijiTao

Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2005
Messages
572
As much as the thought of IE users getting dicked over amuses me, it’s pretty clear that something has got to be done to prevent this sort of thing. I’m all for motivating people to switch to alternative browsers, but this is kinda extreme…
 

nickspoon

vultum stultum habes
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
4,234
Age
27
Location
Essex, UK
Website
Visit site
whiskthecat posted on Apr 5 2006 at 12:30 PM said:
Antivir saved me this time. But last time I had to reformat. :angry:
If you're so pissed off, why aren't you using Firefox?

I am, so I'm safe, but just in case I adblocked that annoying iframe.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

epitaph

Member
Joined
Apr 5, 2006
Messages
206
Nickmon posted on Apr 5 2006 at 02:30 PM said:
What *()*) twats keep doing this, grow up you idots!
Most likely automated applications running on zombie boxes. I doubt there's an actual individual doing this.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

aapje89

Still here...
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
2,753
Age
30
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
nickspoon posted on Apr 5 2006 at 03:02 PM said:
whiskthecat posted on Apr 5 2006 at 12:30 PM said:
Antivir saved me this time. But last time I had to reformat. :angry:
If you're so pissed off, why aren't you using Firefox?

I am, so I'm safe, but just in case I adblocked that annoying iframe.
exactly, get Firefox, its great and extensions are really nice :).
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Franxis

MAME 4 ALL
Joined
Aug 22, 2004
Messages
788
Age
44
Location
Spain
Website
franxis.zxq.net
The solution is not to use Firefox. The solution is to solve the forum bugs by updating to the last stable version, i think :angry:

I use both Firefox and IE. Probably other different idiot could find an specific bug for Firefox and not for IE... The solution could be change to IE? :blink:
 

WarmFluffyUK

The Big Wad Bolf.
Joined
Sep 4, 2004
Messages
3,384
Location
UK
Website
www.retrotech.one
Franxis posted on Apr 5 2006 at 06:30 PM said:
The solution is not to use Firefox. The solution is to solve the forum bugs by updating to the last stable version, i think :angry:

I use both Firefox and IE. Probably other different idiot could find an specific bug for Firefox and not for IE... The solution could be change to IE? :blink:
Agreed, I too use Firefox and IE. Oh and I use Netscape too, depending on what scripts I am testing at the time...

Stop flaming the browsers folks, it makes no sense. If you think IE is insecure and Firefox aint, just look up the silly domain spoof thing that IE hasn't apparently used yet that currently effects mozilla based browsers. In the end, it's horses for courses and that's that.

As to the forum killing bot-software, It's a shame that some ejit actually wrote it in the first place. Why don't people like that create constructive software instead? Probably because they just don't have a life. Oh well...
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Mudi

You're pushing your luck little man
Joined
Jan 25, 2006
Messages
815
Website
mudiweb.com
Except the domain spoofing thing has been fixed since 1.0.6 or something like that :D

The difference is that Mozilla actually fixes stuff when it comes to their attention. This IE exploit has existed forever.

I'm not flaming anyone for using a different browser, I think Microsoft should get their act together already.
 

whiskthecat

whiskthecat
Joined
Oct 15, 2005
Messages
809
Age
28
Location
Texas
Website
pigliver.blogsite.org
Franxis posted on Apr 5 2006 at 11:30 AM said:
The solution is not to use Firefox. The solution is to solve the forum bugs by updating to the last stable version, i think :angry:

I use both Firefox and IE. Probably other different idiot could find an specific bug for Firefox and not for IE... The solution could be change to IE? :blink:
Exactly. I use both. Also did you ever consider that some of us are forced to use IE.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

daclassicgamingmaster

It Is Your Birthday.
Joined
Aug 31, 2005
Messages
8,168
Age
31
Location
ATL
Website
krispf3.blogspot.com
oh come on. not again ;)


Thankfully i too use FF so nothing bad this time :)


If hando has the upgrade he really needs to do it. not to sound nasty or anything but this is getting ridiculous ;)
 

DaveC

Internal Development
Joined
Mar 4, 2004
Messages
9,208
And why does it take so fucking long to get rid of the iframe now? Last time it took over a week. WTF? Will it take another week to get rid of it again? We need an admin around here that actually keeps on top of things a bit, things are too lax. Using a different browser is not the solution, getting rid of the goddamn virus is ;)

And why isn't that shit ass traffsale.biz site SHUT DOWN! These adware people are the scourge of the earth. I would like to break all of their fingers for coding this shit.

And no I didn't get infected but this is ridiculous :rolleyes:
 
T

TelcoLou

Guest
Problem is, only Hando can fix this ... but being the absentee admin that he is, we'll have to wait.
 
Top