GPD Win CMOS reset


NetBLOKS

Finally on-board
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
276
Location
Cologne
Website
www.netbloks.de
Hi,

I´ve already posted the question in the GPD Win Thread, but got no answers, I think mostly because there may be none.
But in hope for help I repost it as it´s own thread:

A question of personal interest:
I´ve managed to brick my GPD Win with the help of the TOLUD memory setting.
The light flashes correctly "long" when I turn it on and short when I turn it off.
But nothing else happens (no screen, no fan etc.)
I´ve tested the blind BIOS reset (FN+3 enter, FN+4 enter) but no change.
Now I´ve opened it and disconnected the battery.
Maybe I have to wait some hours for the BIOS reset, but has anybody an idea, where I can find the CMOS reset pins or another method of BIOS reset?

Any help is appreciated!


Update:
I´ve disconnected the battery for about 24h, but no change in behavior.
 

FBnil

Pyraturi te salutant
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
3,911
Location
Yurp
Function plus 3? It is the R3 key that should be pressed:

1.Please shut down the device completely.
2. Press the R3 Key from the keyboard and hold it, then press the power key to switch it on, after the screen is displayed then release the R3 key.
3. After entering into the system the gamdpad will go into the updating mode, and the functionalities of gamdpad and mouse will be lost temporarily.

See:

http://boards.dingoonity.org/gpd-windows-devices/gpd-win-joystick-updating-manual/

It is the key on the far right
 

NetBLOKS

Finally on-board
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
276
Location
Cologne
Website
www.netbloks.de
Hi FBnil,

thanks for the reply, but that does not answer my question.
I don´t want to update my gamepad-firmware.
I want to reset the BIOS/EFI settings to default without being able to enter the BIOS.
The thing you do on normal computers by connecting the CMOS reset jumper on the mainboard or disconnecting the BIOS-battery for some minutes.
 
Last edited:

FaeMinx

Rainbow Liberation Instigation
Joined
Dec 11, 2010
Messages
3,131
Age
40
Location
outside looking in side looking out
I don't have a win, but have you thought of opening it up and looking at the board... maybe you can create a short in the right place.

Sent from my GT-S7580 using Tapatalk
 

NetBLOKS

Finally on-board
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
276
Location
Cologne
Website
www.netbloks.de
Hi Faeminx,

that´s what I actually did. It´s also the only possibility to disconnect the battery (if you got no Win, you could not know).
But I can´t find any BIOS related Pins except for the BIOS itself :-(

It occurs to me, that they did not think about people actually messing with the BIOS settings.
 

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,718
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Hi Faeminx,

that´s what I actually did. It´s also the only possibility to disconnect the battery (if you got no Win, you could not know).
But I can´t find any BIOS related Pins except for the BIOS itself :-(

It occurs to me, that they did not think about people actually messing with the BIOS settings.

They even disabled most of the BIOS functions in the latest version... with unoptimized settings, which causes most MicroSD Cards >64MB not to work with the system.
A downgrade is needed so you can change one BIOS setting and the cards work...
 

NetBLOKS

Finally on-board
Joined
Nov 24, 2016
Messages
276
Location
Cologne
Website
www.netbloks.de
@EvilDragon : Do you get the mainboard of the Win as a spare part that you could sell?
I dont want to buy a complete new one, just because of a dead BIOS :-(
Or is it possible to send it to you (and then to GPD) for repair?
I bought it via your shop.

@EvilDragon, keep this stuff in mind in case you ever go down the x86 road. I am pretty sure you would do things very differently, but, just in case...
I emphasize that!
 

pradyumna

Newbie
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
2
Age
22
GYS IF YOU WANT TO UNBRICK YOUR GPD WIN 1 WITH FAIL BIOS I CAN FIX IT WITH 1000/- INR (SHIPPING INCLUDED).. LET ME KNOW IF YOU WANT.
 

TrashyMG

Sarcasm Dispenser
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2010
Messages
11,003
Removed some nonconstructive comments.


GYS IF YOU WANT TO UNBRICK YOUR GPD WIN 1 WITH FAIL BIOS I CAN FIX IT WITH 1000/- INR (SHIPPING INCLUDED).. LET ME KNOW IF YOU WANT.
Well as nice as that offer is, I feel you may need to reassure anyone wanting this service that you are capable of doing it and they will get their GPD WIN back.
 

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
14,056
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
FWIW, 1000 INR is a little over 10 EURO at the moment.

I'm not suggesting it's a good idea to even send a bricked GPD Win to this feller, and it's probably safer just to hawk your broken GPD win on ebay for anyone who wants to try this or another approach, and buy a new unit.
 

pradyumna

Newbie
Joined
Aug 22, 2018
Messages
2
Age
22
Gys i dont care about money. I like to do my work....If you are in forign country I will assure you that i will fix and ship your gpd with best curior like BLUE DURT or else with pics and tracking id.... I repaired 3 gpd wins one of them is mine .. And yah 14 EURO is cheaper then 1000 INR but i said that i dont care about money. You shoud care about that you braught it with 200 to 300 EUROS is it not good that i repair it in less then 14 EURO or shoud i take more......???
 
Last edited:

Grench

Forum Addict!
Joined
Oct 3, 2008
Messages
6,623
Gys i dont care about money. I like to do my work....
Here is an idea. Post up how you plan to fix it. A highly technical end user might want to do it themselves. Many/most, though, would opt to send it to a professional who can show that he/she knows how to do it properly. Just a thought.
 
Top