GP32 not booting into firmware when turned on

Zhongtiao1

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
11
I finally obtained an SMC today and tried booting up my GP32. Unfortunately, I do not see the menu when I turn it on with the SMC inserted. When I hook it up to Windows, all I get in device manager is "Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)"

Anyone know what the issue might be?
Post automatically merged:

I'm installing a Windows XP VM just to see right now
 

alxm

Still making GP2X and Pandora games, stay tuned!
Joined
Jul 11, 2013
Messages
181
Website
www.alxm.org
Yes, I did. The screen doesn't even come on with or without the smc inserted
Sorry to hear that. Unfortunately, over the years several people here reported their GP32 breaking, sometimes because of internal parts going bad over time. None of these devices were particularly sturdy to begin with, but I think the GP2X F-100, F-200, and Caanoo aged better and are the best GameParks to get today if you want to visit 320x240 Land :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

Zhongtiao1

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
11
Sorry to hear that. Unfortunately, over the years several people here reported their GP32 breaking, sometimes because of internal parts going bad over time. None of these devices were particularly sturdy to begin with, but I think the GP2X F-100, F-200, and Caanoo aged better and are the best GameParks to get today if you want to visit 320x240 Land :)
Shoot! Really? There's no way to get it working? :( I can't really afford a GP2X at this point anyways. It was a New Old Stock console that I got.

I wanted it so I could try out all of the GP32 games, plus the stick is amazing. Oh well. That's money wasted then :(
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,274
Not if it can be fixed.
I don't know GP32, but I guess there's a list of common failures somewhere.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

Zhongtiao1

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
11
Not if it can be fixed.
I don't know GP32, but I guess there's a list of common failures somewhere.
Sorry for the long silence. Do you know of any fixes for the red power light coming on, but nothing on the screen? Fresh batteries and I've also tried just using the power adapter. The device was sealed before I opened it, so I don't believe the firmware was flashed at all.
 

fbustamantegamboa

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
3
Hello.



Maybe this will help you. This in Spanish.

It is possible that using the google translator you will understan.

I am the author but my English is very bad.

Sorry.


I can not put the link. I have a spam alarm.
It is in the GP32spain forums.

The topic is:

'GP32-Enciende-LED-pero-no-la-pantalla-ni-el-sonido'.

Sorry again.





IMG_0871.jpeg



Changing the bios chip we have managed to resurrect some.
 
Last edited:
Top