GP32 not booting into firmware when turned on


Zhongtiao1

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
13
I finally obtained an SMC today and tried booting up my GP32. Unfortunately, I do not see the menu when I turn it on with the SMC inserted. When I hook it up to Windows, all I get in device manager is "Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)"

Anyone know what the issue might be?
Post automatically merged:

I'm installing a Windows XP VM just to see right now
 

alxm

Still making GP2X and Pandora games, stay tuned!
Joined
Jul 11, 2013
Messages
193
Website
www.alxm.org
Yes, I did. The screen doesn't even come on with or without the smc inserted
Sorry to hear that. Unfortunately, over the years several people here reported their GP32 breaking, sometimes because of internal parts going bad over time. None of these devices were particularly sturdy to begin with, but I think the GP2X F-100, F-200, and Caanoo aged better and are the best GameParks to get today if you want to visit 320x240 Land :)
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

Zhongtiao1

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
13
Sorry to hear that. Unfortunately, over the years several people here reported their GP32 breaking, sometimes because of internal parts going bad over time. None of these devices were particularly sturdy to begin with, but I think the GP2X F-100, F-200, and Caanoo aged better and are the best GameParks to get today if you want to visit 320x240 Land :)
Shoot! Really? There's no way to get it working? :( I can't really afford a GP2X at this point anyways. It was a New Old Stock console that I got.

I wanted it so I could try out all of the GP32 games, plus the stick is amazing. Oh well. That's money wasted then :(
 

Linux-SWAT

Hardcore Member
Joined
Feb 13, 2010
Messages
8,822
Not if it can be fixed.
I don't know GP32, but I guess there's a list of common failures somewhere.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

Zhongtiao1

Still Fresh
Joined
Jun 11, 2019
Messages
13
Not if it can be fixed.
I don't know GP32, but I guess there's a list of common failures somewhere.

Sorry for the long silence. Do you know of any fixes for the red power light coming on, but nothing on the screen? Fresh batteries and I've also tried just using the power adapter. The device was sealed before I opened it, so I don't believe the firmware was flashed at all.
 

fbustamantegamboa

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 28, 2010
Messages
3
Hello.



Maybe this will help you. This in Spanish.

It is possible that using the google translator you will understan.

I am the author but my English is very bad.

Sorry.


I can not put the link. I have a spam alarm.
It is in the GP32spain forums.

The topic is:

'GP32-Enciende-LED-pero-no-la-pantalla-ni-el-sonido'.

Sorry again.





IMG_0871.jpeg



Changing the bios chip we have managed to resurrect some.
 
Last edited:

EvilDragon

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 4, 2003
Messages
29,718
Age
43
Location
Ingolstadt
Ohh, I have three like that.
Is it enough to simply replace and reflash (need to figure out again how to do that though) or do you need to flash it externally before putting it back in?
 

firefly

Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2004
Messages
51
Is it enough to simply replace and reflash (need to figure out again how to do that though) or do you need to flash it externally before putting it back in?
You can also flash the BIOS via JTAG if you have the necessary adapter/software. I do actually have a GP32 JTAG adapter (made by mr. spiv) but it requires a parallel port and I was not sure if the JTAG on my GP32 still worked, so I decided to connect the new flash chip to a STM32 microcontroller to flash the BIOS.
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl

TeDaDeS

Advanced Member
Joined
Jan 15, 2004
Messages
1,145
Location
The Netherlands
Website
Visit site
That does look like you at least need some soldering skills, a fresh flash chip and a way to program the flash chip with a bios-backup. Not something every visitor of the forum will have.

The firmware appears to be downloadable here:

The flash chip could be bought here (€3):

The programmer for the flash chip appears to differ:
* a JTAG cable is possible to build but I didn't see any schema for this.
* Firefly posted a pic with a STM32 and I don't have a manual for this
** I think it's this board (€9): https://de.aliexpress.com/item/32784822906.html
** I think this this tsop board (€2): https://de.aliexpress.com/item/4000044163381.html
* use a TL866II Plus programmer (€36, optional set has TSOP adapters +€35): https://de.aliexpress.com/item/32963724045.html
** Combine it with the above tsop board, or an TSOP32 adapter (€8): https://de.aliexpress.com/item/33059408748.html

I've attached the threads fbustamantegamboa mentioned as pdf.
 

Attachments

  • GP32_Topic_EN.pdf
    92.8 KB · Views: 61
  • TutoGP32.pdf
    12.8 MB · Views: 63
  • fw157e.zip
    244.2 KB · Views: 56
  • Love
Reactions: rSl

levi

Still fresh, damnit!
Joined
Oct 6, 2008
Messages
14,056
Location
Somewhere off the coast of the EU
That does look like you at least need some soldering skills, a fresh flash chip and a way to program the flash chip with a bios-backup. Not something every visitor of the forum will have.
At least it's not SMD, and at least it's not BGA. It's fairly small pitch, but I'd imagine it's something most people with soldering irons, and access the to sort of shops that sell these parts can handle
 
  • Like
Reactions: rSl
Top