Experimental Sdhc Support For Gp2x


Blah

Wanna Be Programmer
Joined
Dec 18, 2003
Messages
3,253
Age
31
Location
Oregon, USA
Website
Visit site
This release only works with 2.1.1

I haven't tried it yet, but it's been tested for quite a while now and nobody has reported it breaking anything. You can easily change back to the old version, it doesn't change your bootloader so there's no risk of a full bricking.

This post has complete installation instructions. Skip to step 5 because you're not using fw 3.0.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Jaylink

Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2006
Messages
110
Website
www.jaylink.nl
Hi ^^

I orderd 2x 16 gb SDHC transcend Class 6 for 54 euro each a few weeks ago.
Last 2 weeks i tested and tryed many things with them.

both works perfectly on my F100 and fw 2.1.1 and got no probs so far.

Bigg ThnX for this Patch Notaz :D.
 

klikklak

Oh neat, it's a ... field.
Joined
Jul 23, 2006
Messages
845
Location
helsinki, finland
Website
Visit site
My 8gb pqi card works ok. (except when I copy files to it, I get i/o errors on linux, haven't tried win yet)

My "problem" is that when I copy it full of music (I use gp2x as a music/film player) that gmu only shows 999 songs. Other players don't seem to have recursive adds through a directory structure. Is there anyway to get around this?
 

gamer4life17

Still Fresh
Joined
Apr 17, 2008
Messages
3
I have an question before buying an SD card:

Does the following sd cards work ? :
Transcend Secure Digital High-Capacity,4096MB
Adata Secure Digital SDHC, 4096 MB
Ultron SD HighSpeed Secure Digital Card 4 GB
Bestmedia Platinum Secure Digital Card 4 GB
Kingston Secure Digital High-Capacity,4096MB, 2

And so which is the best ? and if possible can i take an bigger size?

Many thanks !
 

DTH

Member
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
227
Location
cz
Hey,

I thought id place it in here.

I ordered a 4GB sandisk SD card,
I have FW 2.0, do i need to upgrade
 

Morpheus384

Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2006
Messages
143
Age
51
Website
Visit site
DTH said:
Hey,

I thought id place it in here.

I ordered a 4GB sandisk SD card,
I have FW 2.0, do i need to upgrade
That Depends...

If the card is SDHC and your using an F100 or MKII then you'll need this patched firmware to run it. If its non SDHC then it will work with the gp2x F100 and MKII natively. I was using a 4 gb trancend 150x card with my MKII for 2 years with no problems. However, since installing Notaz's patched firmware Im using a 16 gb patriot class 6 SDHC card which is selling for 70 bux (US) on newegg,com right now.

Hope this is helpful. :)
 
Last edited by a moderator:

atomicthumbs

I am the king of the collectors, with hospital bed
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
2,827
Age
29
Location
XK-Masada
Website
printeronfire.org
Ah, somebody's verified that the 16GB card that I bought from Newegg will work. No more having to swap cards. :D

But now I have to wait for my 2 gigs of music, ROMs, and games to copy over. :p
 

notaz

Certified Guru
Joined
Aug 23, 2005
Messages
4,913
Location
Lithuania
Website
notaz.gp2x.de
As promised, I've backported 4.0.0 SDHC code to 2.1.1, see my first post. All those who had problems with my previous patch may want to try the new one.
 

sbock

Chaos is our mode and modus
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
3,776
Location
Germany
Nice! Works great! Thanks for the update, notaz.

Regards,
Stephan
 

jbrodack

gp2x fan
Joined
Dec 22, 2005
Messages
1,034
Age
38
Location
new jersey, USA
Website
jbrodack.googlepages.com
works great and was easy to use. since i now have an f200 and gave my ex the f100 I had, with the patch she was able to use an sdhc card she got for another purpose (not knowing about sdhc incompatibility issues) and was unable to use for that purpose, on the f100 gp2x. so basically got use out of an sdhc card that would have had no use.
 

astrok

Still Fresh
Joined
Jan 22, 2009
Messages
15
A late reply perhaps, but many thanks for this. My F100 is now working with w Transcend 6x 16GB card. Very nice too!
 

Series-8

Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
299
Anyone get frame loss or stuttering when playing back xvid from the SDHC?

Its a fast card (Class 4, faster than the old one by a factor of ~3).

Using the plain old GPH Mplayer, its very noticeable.

Would this be caused by disabling read-ahead? (And by the same logic be FIXED by enabling it ?)
 
Top