GP2X Etiquette - Comments Please From Code Authors

vic20-ian

Website
Visit site
Quick questions on etiquette so I don't tread on toes.

I modified some of the keyboards on the Vice alpha 3 and posted how to do it and also sent the altered source to the author Snaff for incorporation into alpha 4. This is my first attempt to add something to the community that can actually be used on the GP2X.

Questions :

Is it acceptable to you coders out there for others to tinker with your published code and recompile and post it here as an unofficial release or is that stepping on toes?

I have tried to go about it the way I think I would like to be treated but with open source what are the rules of etiquette you follow?

Actually the question is not so much about your etiquette, but that of the developers. People need to make it clear what they will allow with their code, when they release it. Giving it a known license (like GPL or whatever) is best, because then you've given a clear signal about what the code can be used for.

In my experience, if people have put code out without any copyright notice etc, they are generally happy for people to use it as they wish. That's not how copyright law works though, so I tend to steer clear of such code.

If you're unsure, try to get in touch with people through here, or e-mail, or #gp2xdev on IRC. If you can't make contact, then it's up to your conscience what you do :). If you credit people in your app for significant bits that you've taken, then I'm sure no-one will get all heavy on you!

The whole point of open source is actually to be able to access and improve on other people's code.

That being said, it'd be nice if you would credit the original author where credit is due, and not claim the work as your own.

If you do that, it's unlikely that someone will get pissed at you.

(Basically, I'm with stupid ---^ :))