Emulators For Developer?

kentaromiura

Still Fresh
Hello, Since this is my first post I will introduce myself:
I'm Cristian, I'm Italian and I work as a developer, building any kind of application using C# (web/windows/compact).
I have some experience in building application on smart devices since I wrote apps using compact framework.
Long time ago (5 years ago) I built a custom linux distribution on a 1.72mb floppy with a working compiler (tcc) using uClinux,at that time I used to have only 1 os on my p133: slackware.
I know lot of languages: C / Java / RapidQ / Q-Basic / 3 kind of differents assembly / Brainf. / pascal-delphi blah blah blah...

I would like to start developing something for the pandora, I want know if there is a standard emulator for testing armstrong and try to build something on it.
I'm interested in opengl-es and I would test how mono:arm works on pandora ;)

Thanks.

Last edited by a moderator:
You should take a look at the BeagleBoard

www.beagleboard.org

Its cheap and available with angstrom running on it.

You can also use QEmu to emulate a ARM environment as it would be on a BeagleBoard.

Honestly at the moment, it's best to wait it out.

OR just dn't bother with ARM for dev side; run a vmware-player VM, say, or use your local linux setup and just go. (Yes, there may be endian issues depending on your environment, or padding, etc.. but if yo code well, or depending on the languager and tools, it may be a cakewalk.) In general, porting linux to linux is not geneally very difficult. For displays, open an appropriate window size, instead of full screen, etc and so on...

Nowdays the handhelds are using more and more modern OSes, so the need for an emu is less. (But then again, some tasks really need an emu, but you didn't let us know what sort of thign you'd be working on :)

jeff

'skeezix' said: