Dreamcast

Discussion in 'Everything else' started by finty, Jun 22, 2004.

  1. mastaboog749

    mastaboog749 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Location:
    Massachuesetts
    I want to buy a Saturn, does the backups work the same as DC? Or do you need to chip it or something?
     
  2. PinkSpider

    PinkSpider Shit.

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    Hull.
    Pretty sure it needs a chip.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  3. finty

    finty what is this

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,985
    Location:
    Ireland
    You can do the swap trick pretty easy. Google it. Make sure you get a V2 though (round buttons).
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  4. thebluenewt

    thebluenewt wrrrr thrrr frrrrrrrrk?

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,446
    Location:
    GP32 centre of Europe - Newcastle!
    I couldn't do this at all so I got mine chipped.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  5. gaterooze

    gaterooze Coltrane Sundia

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    One thing you may need a DC modchip for: *some* multiple-disc games from other regions. Single-disc games work fine, but if a multi-CD game switches CDs without rebooting, it won't recognize the second disc.

    So Shenmue would work fine because you reset and load the second CD, but things like Alone in the Dark 4 don't (at least, that's my experience with a US version on my Aussie DC). Of course, I could just get a UK PAL version of the game...

    btw, how is the menu on the 'illegal' Megadrive emulator you guys are using? My one (which I agree works GREAT) has all the roms in one directory (on each of the 2 CDs) and it's a real pain to navigate because you can't skip ahead one screen at a time... Do I just need to re-burn it with a new directory structure?
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2015
  6. Twimfy

    Twimfy OMG 3 years here!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    The version I have lists all of the roms in one directory and you can jump a page by pressing the shoulder buttons.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  7. NssOne

    NssOne I am One with the DarkNss

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,108
    Location:
    RIGHT BEHIND YOU! Scary, huh?
    I have the ripped DCGenEmu with lemec loader (what Twinkfy is talking about), but I've only gotten it to work in a way that requires a boot disk. But I also have some 900 ROMs for it spread over 2 discs. So using the Lemec loader really helps out and is worth using a boot disk for it.

    And I don't know what you guys ar talking about when it comes to the sturdiness of a DC. Mine is almost 5 years old now. I bought it the day it came out (well, I didn't, my sister did, it was for my birthday the next day, I just happened to be with her when she decided we'd go get it). It sits underneath my computer desk here and I kick it all the time. The only things that get ruined are any discs I have in it at the time and they are usually just backups anyways.

    Anyways, finty, I suggest you somehow acquire a copy of Sega Rally 2, though I don't know how you'll be able to play it since you have PAL and I only know of NTSC copies.
     
  8. gaterooze

    gaterooze Coltrane Sundia

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,723
    Man... you just reminded me why I love the DC so much...!
    :D
     
  9. finty

    finty what is this

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,985
    Location:
    Ireland
    It was released on PAL too wasnt it?

    Anyway all you need is a boot disc and a 60Hz TV, which I have.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  10. Dozer

    Dozer Efram the retarded rabbit

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,034
    Location:
    Exeter
    I got sonic shuffle, soul calibur and a virtua fighter game all perfect, still boxed and wrapped with my dreamcast (along with a controller and mem card). Managed to sell sonic shuffle for more than I paid for the whole package :blink:. It's such a crap game as well!
     
  11. El_Diablo

    El_Diablo Rocking Your Face Clean Off

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    UK, Near Portsmouth!
    sonic shuffle is ok, the game lasts too long though and besides anyone who has ever played Mario Party 1 or 2 knows full well there was not really a need for a sonic game of similar style since Mario did it so damn well!
     
  12. finty

    finty what is this

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2004
    Messages:
    4,985
    Location:
    Ireland
    Mario Par tey sucked big floppy donkey dick.
     
  13. El_Diablo

    El_Diablo Rocking Your Face Clean Off

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    UK, Near Portsmouth!
    says you rat boy :p
     
  14. Twimfy

    Twimfy OMG 3 years here!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    I find that all of the 'backups' I aqquire are selfbooting regarding the region, believe it or not though most of the games in my sig are originals.
     
  15. El_Diablo

    El_Diablo Rocking Your Face Clean Off

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    UK, Near Portsmouth!
    I believe you, most Dc games are dirt cheap nowadays. I bought my DC about 1 1/2 years ago and I now own about 38 original games :D
     
  16. Twimfy

    Twimfy OMG 3 years here!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    My plan is to only download games which aren't available on PAL release, or far too expensive to buy at the moment. However this is slipping out of my grip slowly and I'm gaining about a game a day at the moment, via methods not involving currency.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 2, 2016
  17. El_Diablo

    El_Diablo Rocking Your Face Clean Off

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Messages:
    318
    Location:
    UK, Near Portsmouth!
    I see.... ;)

    Don't get me wrong, I have also had to backup games for people in Japan, if you get me...
     
  18. Twinbee

    Twinbee Tales From The Big Room

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2004
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Essex, England
    Ditto.

    Mmmm. Rez...
     
  19. carlgeorge

    carlgeorge Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    689
    Location:
    Tasmania
    Yeah, I am also keeping some backups for the Chin family :p
     
  20. Twimfy

    Twimfy OMG 3 years here!

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,716
    Location:
    Bournemouth, UK
    I'm running out of good games now...Panzer Dragoon Saga on the Saturn is all that is keeping me sane between work at the moment.
     

Share This Page

Loading...